Chevron Left
Retour à Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds par Université d'Arizona

4.9
étoiles
126 évaluations
53 avis

À propos du cours

How are astronomers approaching their search for life in the universe? What have we learned from the surge of exoplanets discoveries? How likely is it that Earth does not host the only life in the Universe? In this course we explore the field of astrobiology, an emerging multidisciplinary field. Progress in astrobiology is driven by telescopes on the ground and in space, and by new insights on how life emerged on Earth and its diversity. The topics in this course range from the science of how exoplanets are detected, to the chemistry that supports the argument that the ingredients for life are common in the Universe. We will follow the analyses of experts in chemistry, astronomy, geology and archaeology to build a strong foundation of understanding. By the final assignment, students will be equipped with the knowledge necessary to identify what makes a planet habitable, and how likely it is that life exists there. Students will graduate from this course informed about one of the most exciting fields in all of science, and ready to discuss the current exoplanet news stories and discoveries....

Meilleurs avis

BP

Jul 03, 2020

This is my first course in coursera. The material and explanation given by the instructor was awesome. I really learned a lot. Peer graded assingments really helped me to knew the concept very well.

AK

May 11, 2020

One of the best Astronomy theme modular course that I have seen. With many assignments and quizzes, this module certainly worth enrolling. The notes, videos are really awesome !

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 53 Avis pour Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds

par Brietta D

May 29, 2019

This course was very interactive and educational. Prof. Impey holds live Q and A session every few weeks, where you can ask questions. Prof. Impey clearly explains the subjects but also makes it entertaining.

He talks in depth about many subjects that I have trouble finding anywhere else.

After taking his last course astronomy: exploring time and space, I was so excited when he came out with this course and I was not disappointed!

I learned so much from this course and am grateful to everyone who worked on this!

par Hernan R

May 27, 2019

This Astrobiology course is not the first course I have taken about Astronomy. I took "Astronomy - Exploring Time and Space" some years ago, and found it fascinating, very well structured and interactive. Since then, I have been following, as often as I can, Professor Impey's Q&A sessions LIVE or else on YouTube replay. So when I learned there was to be this course on Astrobiology also by him and the University of Arizona, I immediately signed on as soon as it became available.

I had taken a previous course on Astrobiology, an Introduction to the theme, by the University of Edinburgh. That was several years ago. Astronomy has always been my hobby, ever since I was taught by an old ship's doctor, on a trip across the Atlantic, how to identify Orion in the sky. He had the adorable German way of pronouncing Betelgeuse (he had been a ship's doctor in the Kriegsmarine in the war). He said it as "Bay-tell-goyze". (Well, that's certainly better than those who say it "beetleJuice!)

I have been keeping up with the so many new developments there have been in the past forty years or so, and the discoveries on Europa, Enceladus and Titan have absolutely blown me over. This Astrobiology course was perfect to learn all the methodology for searching for life elsewhere than on earth, and beyond the old "Goldilocks Zone". The lectures were all excellent, and the two assignments towards the end of the course were challenging and really cemented the knowledge learned.

I certainly recommend this course to all and any who are interested in Astronomy. It is a course for beginners but also very much for those who already have some knowledge about the issues, but who want to have them restructured with the latest developments, and in a professional way, as Professor Impey does so well!

Thank you to all who put this course together, and thank you to the mentors who sent me interesting comments and feedback on my responses.

par Hester v B

Jun 24, 2019

This course really shows the multidisciplinary field that Astrobiology is in a clear way. It's an interesting mix between introducing many subjects while at various moments diving into the material a little bit more.

The biggest plus for me on this course was the fact that the course gives rather concise info per subject per week, but through the peer-reviewed writing assignments you really have to the think beyond the material and tie things together yourself.

Also, Prof Impey is one of my favorite online teachers (I've tried about 20 MOOCs and actually finished 15 of them in the past five years, so I've seen a variety of online teachers ;)) I hugely appreciate the fact that when you are enrolled in one of his two courses, you can participate in live Q&A sessions about astronomy once every few weeks.

par Milton G V

May 30, 2019

Dr Chris Impey did it again. He brought the universe into my home and office and brought me closer to understanding the universe we are all part of.

par Maya

May 31, 2019

Prof. Impey is one of the best speakers that I ever witnessed!

Some jokes are very refreshful during the lections and the lections itself are neat and clear. Thanks to (tech.) help also. That's very important too.

Quizes and other works are better than in Astrophysics course (at least when I took it) but there is still missing attachments before the lectures (like slides or reading list, e.g.), but i believe it will be corrected sooner or later!

I highly recommend this course. Especially for amateurs/begginers.

Thank you!

par Josef P

Aug 02, 2019

Great and complex extent of topics; inspiring assignments; slides for download.

There is only one thing I would like to find in the course yet - more detailed discussion of some partial topics in videos in such a way, that it would broaden and deepen the content of slides.

Anyway, thank you for the course!

par Panagiotis T

Oct 15, 2019

To be honest, I was not considering to pay for a certificate for this course. BUT, I could not help not to pay, receiving such a great learning experience from professor Impey. It totally deserves to read, listen, watch and try everything in this course. Professor is great! Thank you!

par Izzy B

Jan 01, 2020

Yet another fantastic online course by Prof Chris Impey! I found this course challenging at times not being a natural at Maths but doing this course has made me think that at some point I will go for my GCSE Astronomy! Thanks Chris and team, please do more!

par Brent L

Sep 04, 2019

TERRIFIC! ALWAYS WANTED TO TAKE ASTRONOMY COURSE AT NORTHWESTERN U. IN THE 1960S, NEVER HAD THE CHANCE.

par Christine M

Nov 23, 2019

High-quality lectures in manageable short clips. Helpful mentors. Great subject.

par Yuliia N

May 05, 2020

I love space and life sciences so much and hope to work as astrobiologist someday. This course made me even more confident that I want to stick to this branch of science and dedicate my life to it. Those six weeks that I've spent with this course was probably one of the best experiences ever. I am so grateful for the opportunity to study the most interesting and exciting things for me. It was awesome

par Antonio g d

Feb 13, 2020

He aprendido mucho sobre la parte de Astrobiología que no conocía .

Una sugerencia : Se podría incluir algo sobre el planeta X o todavía no hay evidencias sobre dicho planeta

Gracias

En cuanto al Instructor Chris Impey es un astrónomo de reconocido prestigio un diez

En cuanto a coursera que voy a decir si ya he hecho muchos cursos con ellos : muy bien

par A K

May 11, 2020

One of the best Astronomy theme modular course that I have seen. With many assignments and quizzes, this module certainly worth enrolling. The notes, videos are really awesome !

par María F E B

Apr 15, 2020

Me encantó el curso! Muchísimas gracias al Profesor Chris Impey por todo el conocimiento compartido y por un curso tan ameno e interesante!

par Anurup M

Dec 31, 2019

Best Course I have ever done !!!

Enjoyed a lot..... And Learnt too

par Agnes G

Jul 06, 2020

A very enjoyable, informative and interactive course.

par Antariksha M

Oct 07, 2019

great Experience ,happy to learn

par José L R C

Jul 13, 2020

This course has surpassed my expectations. It covered an incredible array of topics related to Astrobiology and even proved the knowledge via assignments. Highly recommend for any beginners in the topic since the instructors combine terminology with images, examples, and even short movies. Also, the course is divided in such a way that each week's lessons and themes backup the ones ahead.

par Kimaya K

Jul 06, 2020

I am very thankful to Professor Chris Impey and Coursera for this wonderful course. I was always curious about outside world and this course has helped me learn a lot.

I really liked the different structure of this course that is peer reviewed assignments and quizzes after every video.

Thanking the mentor for addressing every problem faced by the participants.

par T.J. E

Jun 16, 2020

Very thorough, accessible, and well organized introduction to a fascinating topic. Prof Impey creates a great workflow and progression, starting on grand themes and zooming in from there. This will be fascinating for anyone who likes to contemplate the stars, or is interested in cosmology, astronomy, the Fermi Paradox, or science in general.

par David B H

Apr 30, 2020

I found this course fascinating. It included a wide variety of topics when considering exploration of other worlds. Very comprehensive and thought provoking. Anyone can enroll, but everyone will learn! A big thanks to Professor Chris Impey for his impeccable teaching and wealth of knowledge.

par Parth P J

Jul 08, 2020

I have learnt many new things about our universe after doing this course and Sir Chris Impey really makes all the complex stuff easy for us. If you are curious about the universe and often ask the question about Extra-terrestrial life , this course is for you, Thank You !

par Nelson M

May 27, 2020

Finally I’m more aware of what surrounds me, in biological and astronomically point of view. This will be very important for my artistic research in the next futur. Thanks for creating this amazingly well structured course

par Baskaran P

Jul 03, 2020

This is my first course in coursera. The material and explanation given by the instructor was awesome. I really learned a lot. Peer graded assingments really helped me to knew the concept very well.

par Titov D

Mar 19, 2020

Excellent course! Really useful and interesting materials, as well as very good tasks. After this course I really began to understand the basics of astrobiology.