Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Arctic: Climate par Université de l'Alberta

4.6
étoiles
419 évaluations
115 avis

À propos du cours

The University of Alberta, the University of Tromso and the University of the Arctic invite you to explore this four week course that examines the environment and climate of the circumpolar North. This course is the result of an international collaboration and provides you with an insight into our planet's North. Following an overview of regional geography, we will focus on the cryosphere (ice), as well as the atmosphere and ocean of the region. We will learn why the Arctic is cold and ice covered, and how that impacts its climate and ecosystems. We will also consider how the Arctic is connected to the rest of the world. Finally, we will examine present day climate change, the processes driving it, and evidence for it in the Arctic, before looking at the implications in the rapidly evolving North. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/arctic-climate...

Meilleurs avis

DM
12 mai 2020

It was a really amazing and an informative course. If you are interested to know how things work in the Arctic region and how the climate varies in the Arctic, this is a must do course.

TO
15 juin 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

Filtrer par :

101 - 113 sur 113 Avis pour Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

par Kirsten W

9 juin 2020

very informative and thorough, though some videos were a bit too long

par elvis a

27 juil. 2019

This is very well informed course about Arctic sea-ice. Thank you.

par Tom A

19 déc. 2020

Difficult course as not a scientist but explained well.

par Antoni B

22 janv. 2016

Cool

par Jocelino R

11 août 2016

The course content was very interesting, however, the way it was presented was very dull and monotonous. The script was great - very insightful and informative, but having the presenter talk for the whole lecture without more frequent use of diagrams, figures, etc. to help understand the concepts is not helpful and incomprehensible to me. Specially when it comes to a course with so much geographical content, it would be good to have a more consistent depiction of maps. Furthermore, with all the new concepts, visual aid would help students understand what things are and what they look like since the backgrounds chosen for the lectures have little or nothing to do with the course whatsoever.

On the other hand, I do think that the questions throughout the videos are extremely useful as they (usually) tackle problems that were not mentioned previously and gets the student to think independently. Finally, the end of lesson tests always have one or two challenging questions which is great. This course has a 5 star potential, so I hope the reviews are being read so they can work towards that goal!

par Robert S

12 nov. 2017

I very much understand the course material may be "dry" at times and difficult for the instructor to keep the attention of the student(s) focused. However, at times during the course, the material was a bid much in the sense that the presentation made it very difficult to follow along and completely understand the material - monotone presentation. Perhaps the material could have been described by more examples and made more understandable. On a technical front, the audio went out in video 4.2b between 12:07 and

par DARYL D

3 oct. 2020

The information was rather basic but good for an introduction. The biggest issue I had with the course was the way the instructor presented the material. The voice inflections made me feel like I was sitting in an elementary school class. It was clear the instructor was reading from a script. A more conversational speaking approach would have been much more effective.

par SIDDHARATH R

23 avr. 2020

The course content was good but the instructor panache of teaching was very impassive and he should also explain the concepts in a better way

par Tiffany G

23 janv. 2016

There is a very technical portion to this class making it difficult for the neophyte to truly understand and explain course content.

par Ian R

12 nov. 2018

some of the content was interesting. the lectures were horrendous.

par Carmen P

20 janv. 2021

Quizzes were so poorly designed that there was no way to pass them. Material was great, but the course has not been updated, which is a pity,

par Jonathan G

7 janv. 2018

this horse was boring as hell. Not only was the information something you would in high school and very self-explanatory, but the instructor was monotonous and had no life in him whatsoever. Anyone can learn how to do this course. Although the questions in the last quiz in module for more marked wrong even though most of them would be right. The only two things you need to know about the Arctic it's freezing and miserable, and also you don't need a course like this to know about climate change. I wouldn't recommend this course anybody, unless you want to be and Arctic ecologist and freeze your ass off! Did d

par Paul G

20 juil. 2020

This course needs more visual aids - particularly for some of the more complex material - and a diversity of presenters. The lack of both meant that I sometimes used the videos to put me to sleep...

Another issue - for which I bear significant responsibility - is that I expected the course to spend a lot more time on the human dimension of the Arctic. I discovered at the end that there are additional courses that cover this in more detail.