Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Arctic: Climate par Université de l'Alberta

4.5
étoiles
251 évaluations
66 avis

À propos du cours

The University of Alberta, the University of Tromso and the University of the Arctic invite you to explore this four week course that examines the environment and climate of the circumpolar North. This course is the result of an international collaboration and provides you with an insight into our planet's North. Following an overview of regional geography, we will focus on the cryosphere (ice), as well as the atmosphere and ocean of the region. We will learn why the Arctic is cold and ice covered, and how that impacts its climate and ecosystems. We will also consider how the Arctic is connected to the rest of the world. Finally, we will examine present day climate change, the processes driving it, and evidence for it in the Arctic, before looking at the implications in the rapidly evolving North. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/arctic-climate...

Meilleurs avis

DM

May 13, 2020

It was a really amazing and an informative course. If you are interested to know how things work in the Arctic region and how the climate varies in the Arctic, this is a must do course.

TO

Jun 16, 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 66 Avis pour Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

par Deborah G

Feb 18, 2018

Very good course. No previous Arctic knowledge, and now thanks to this course I can understand things much better. Looking forward to more Arctic related courses. Thank you.

par Kimberly K

Aug 09, 2016

I was really excited about this course. I thought the information was of high quality and well presented. However, I did have trouble staying focused. I would have liked more graphics depicting concepts. The presenter had a very monotone voice with a very active face. It was hard to sit through someone just talking at me even if the subject matter is interesting. I look forward to the other Arctic courses and hope they are just are well thought out but a bit more lively. You guys did a great job, keep it up!

par Anastasiia E

May 19, 2020

Bad things first and good things last.

The forum, unfortunately, isn't very active. I never got a response for my question posted there and I saw that there are many more unanswered questions.

The lectures really need more figures, schemes, maps and so on. When a lector is mentioning some toponyms I'd love to look at a map at the same time. It is hard to understand just while listening how the steams go, for example. Similarly, when a term is introduced it should be written on the screen for longer than 3 seconds and be accompanied with an illustration. There were a lot of new words for me and I can't say that I understand all this ice-terminology even after finishing the course.

There were illustrations, animations and maps in video lectures, just in my opinion far not enough. Instead, I could enjoy beautiful photographs of Arctic landscapes. The photos were indeed amazing =)

The material is interesting and wholesome. The chapters are well-connected to each other and it feels like the basic knowledge on the subject is covered very well.

What I liked the most were the questions appearing inside the video lectures. They were not just a formality, they made me think. I think it is a good feature.

Anyway, thank you.

par Alice D P

Jan 28, 2016

The course is good but it could be improved. For example, I don't think the images on the background (even if they are stunning) are particularly important and I think they could be substituted by plots and schemes referring to the topics (all the presented schemes where helpful, but there would have been more things that would have been good to see visually).

par Cheuk W T Y

May 15, 2018

not well supported by the use of graphs, particularly when theory / ideas involve with progression

par N.M. E K

May 22, 2020

I was really excited about this course. I thought the information was of high quality and well presented. However, I did have trouble staying focused. I would have liked more graphics depicting concepts. The presenter had a very monotone voice with a very active face. It was hard to sit through someone just talking at me even if the subject matter is interesting. I look forward to the other Arctic courses and hope they are just are well thought out but a bit more lively. You guys did a great job, keep it up!

par Maulik H

Aug 06, 2018

This course has enhanced my knowledge base and has deepened my perspective of the phenomenon of Global warming. As an Urban Planner, I now understand the Arctic Climate, Global climate, Climate change, its impact on the life of living species in the Arctic and elsewhere. The fundamental terminologies of Ice Sheets, Sea Ice, Glaciers, Ice berg, Ice caps, Albedo, Layers of the Earth's atmosphere, etc. were explained very well and in a simplified manner.

par Irina D

Apr 23, 2019

Loved the course! It is so important. Everyone today should learn about global warming and how Arctic affects the climate change. There are so many people that just don't believe that the climate is changing...Thank you for this course!

par Haritha L G

Jan 21, 2018

Excellent course, enjoyed taking it thoroughly. Basics to concepts in depth explained very clearly and the maps and graphs displayed add to clarity and break monotony. Would recommend it to anyone who is interested in environment.

par Julia G

Feb 16, 2016

An interesting, very well instructed MOOC! Very good lectures and excellent scripts. I also liked the many questions/quizzes that were embedded in the video lectures. If another MOOC was offered by the instructor, I would take it.

par Jennifer L

Oct 21, 2017

I have learned some very valuable information in regards to our climate. I now have a better understanding of how humans are having an adverse effect on the weather, impacts on animal populations and the northern culture.

par Suzanne C

Jan 22, 2020

Engaging and well formatted, and filled with information that honestly everyone should know. Also, the fact I could actually complete the entire course without having to pay for the certificate is very much appreciated!

par Dina L

Apr 21, 2019

Me parece muy buena la selección del material que tiene el curso, da una idea concreta de la necesidad de evaluar nuestras acciones para evitar las acciones antropogénicas que favorecen el calentamiento global.

par Siana C

Jan 22, 2018

This course successfully expanded my understanding of the impacts of human-caused climate change on the Arctic, and the world as a whole. I highly recommend this course for increasing your Geo-Literacy.

par Dhruv M

May 13, 2020

It was a really amazing and an informative course. If you are interested to know how things work in the Arctic region and how the climate varies in the Arctic, this is a must do course.

par Turlea O

Jun 16, 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

par Suzan H

Feb 03, 2016

Very nicely put together and presented into a down to earth course about the Arctic and how climate change is affecting all species of life in the surrounding area.

par Julio P O

Apr 06, 2020

Quite multidisciplinary and holistic vision of the Arctic: I truly recommend it !

PD: It would be great making more about other biomes/climatic areas/landscapes

par Varun K S

Jul 01, 2019

Learnt the nuances of climate change and how human induced pollution can substantially alter the climate of a region that may have not contributed in it.

par Ran T

Feb 19, 2018

very interesting and thorough introductory course the the arctic system science, enjoyable though some exam questions are tricky :)

par Ruy C C J

Jan 04, 2018

A great course to start studying about the Arctic. It's very important understanding climate changes and its global consequences.

par Paula S M P

Oct 26, 2019

This course has the basic to understand different process and aspects about the Arctic and glaciers. I really enjoyed it!

par Mark

Mar 15, 2017

Excellent initial overview course for people without a knowledge of the Arctic or Environmental Science.

par Maria

Feb 17, 2018

Wonderful course. Lots of useful information and beautiful and easy to understand infographic.

par Patrick W

Apr 23, 2019

Informative and enjoyable course about the arctic and the effects of climate change