Chevron Left
Retour à At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC par Université de Rome La Sapienza

4.5
étoiles
370 évaluations
149 avis

À propos du cours

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

Meilleurs avis

CH

13 mars 2021

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

DA

9 août 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 149 Avis pour At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

par Júlio C M d F

17 janv. 2018

Fantastic !

par Matheus W R

10 oct. 2021

Very good!

par Catherine L

13 août 2020

Thank You.

par Jisha

17 juil. 2020

Very Good

par David B

31 juil. 2017

Excellent

par Claudette D

6 oct. 2019

E

par Damon T R

7 juil. 2018

I

par Charles E M

27 juin 2018

G

par Carmen

3 août 2017

F

par Javier G G

27 avr. 2020

Ha sido realmente bueno el poder repasar el mundo fenicio. Lo que he echado mucho en falta es que se hubiera hablado del mundo fenicio en términos más ámplios geográficamente hablando, y no solo basarse en un solo yacimiento. El curso está muy bien pero únicamente se basa en el yacimiento de Motia y no se habla casi nada de los enclaves fenicios del norte de África o de la Península Ibérica. Debe quedar claro que es un curso sobre los fenicios en un lugar muy concreto: Motia. El título del curso debería cambiar sustancialmente ya el mismo nos induce a confusión, no tiene nada que ver éste con el curso a realizar.

par Elisabeth M

1 mars 2020

Curso muy interesante!. me interesa la historia como pasatiempo y desconocía totalmente la existencia de Motia y sus ruinas. El próximo Mayo, si el coronavirus me lo permite, voy a ir a Túnez y Malta, por lo que estoy leyendo acerca de los Fenicios, y es probable que me acerque a Sicilia, donde ya estuve, pero no conocía estos lugares. Gracias profesor Nigro, transmite su entusiasmo. Desde Argentina

par Richard S

21 févr. 2021

I enjoyed the class. It provided an insight into the spread of urban civilization across the Mediterranean through the lens of one city Motya. My only problem was that some of the questions were translated somewhat awkwardly into English, because I only speak one language it took more than one try to understand. However, that is my issue and not really a problem with the course.

par Diane W

1 oct. 2020

A very interesting course for anyone looking to learn more about the growth of urbanism in the Mediterranean. The professors English is not perfect but is easily good enough to understand and he is an engaging teacher and obviously knows his material inside out. The course transcripts need some work on them! A glossary would also be useful for non-specialists.

par Rodrigo C S M

8 août 2020

Great course! It was really interesting to know the ancient origins of Motya and how were conducted the the archaeological studies of its remais. I would only point out that the english text of the lectures has several mistakes. Other than that I really appreciated the course!

par Ellen S

30 juin 2019

I enjoyed learning this material. It was fun trying to interpret the English text which I assume was done by machine with some strange results. Most, but not all, of the time I was able to figure out the word by listening to the audio in slower speed.

par RICHARD J Y

13 mai 2022

Difficult to understand due to language barrier unless you really listened to instructor. Printed transcipt was not fully accurate translation of lecture & was confusing at times.

Excellent overview of subject & melding of history & archaeology.

par Fethi O Ö

7 juil. 2017

Phoenician is a specific subject in the Ancient Mediterrenean History.Why Phoaenicians came to the west from the east? Where did they live in the west? Many thanks Sapienza University and Lorenzo Nigro for the laborious course.

par SUZANNE R

13 sept. 2021

Interesting focus on the settlement of the Phoenicians in Motya and the digs carried out there by the University of La Sapienza. The enthusiasm of Professor Nigro gave me a new appreciation of archeology.

par KERRY S

29 avr. 2021

A fascinating course. I had to work hard to understand the material, but I enjoyed the challenge. I intend to review the course materials - I'm sure I will learn even more the second time through.

par Daniel V

29 nov. 2017

Very informative and the lecturer is quite engaging. The items in the quizzes are sometimes a bit cryptic and every now and then one finds oneself guessing at exactly what is being asked.

par Heather C

5 janv. 2021

I really enjoyed this hands on approach to teaching. the professor was enlightening and entertaining and passionate about the subject. loved it being on site most of the time8

par Vasiliki C

6 févr. 2020

The material was extremely interesting. I have learned many interesting things. Unfortunately, the subtitles were so bad that I had to spend a lot of time to decipher the text.

par Teddy v D

24 mars 2021

Very interesting course, but it would be much improved with a good translation into English. Not only a proper translation of the video's, but especially of the quizzes.

par Elizabeth G

13 avr. 2020

Some of the lectures were difficult to understand ( names and places) and the translation texts were incorrect. Good course otherwise, enjoyed it!

par Judith M S

1 mai 2018

Really interesting course! The quizz needs some improvements in terms of grammar (some questions/answers are difficult to understand). Thank you!!