Chevron Left
Retour à Archaeoastronomy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Archaeoastronomy par Politecnico di Milano

4.5
étoiles
843 évaluations
258 avis

À propos du cours

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Meilleurs avis

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 258 Avis pour Archaeoastronomy

par Lina M D W

Jan 22, 2019

Excelent

par Muhammad T M

Nov 13, 2018

GOOD ONE

par Jesús G c V

Jun 13, 2019

genial

par Venkatesh.Meka

Nov 12, 2017

Great.

par Chunduri p

Mar 16, 2020

s

z

par Diana L

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent introduction to the field with exciting examples of the centrality of the movements of celestial bodies to religious belief and practice (and more) in antiquity, as realized in stone structures. If only I were a scientist and, especially, a mathematician! What is so interesting is that clear, precise evidence can be provided through these methods. My first thought was, how much more interesting and enlightening any study of antiquity would be with the particular addition of archaeoastronomy. These discoveries through mathematics feel rather like magic, reaching beyond the mechanics to reveal deeper insights into how people of the time might have experienced connection and communication with the heavens. Thank you!

[If I were to make a suggestion, it would be to have the instructional staff review some of the more technical quiz questions and pull out some items for supplementary video instruction. As the factors accumulate, they become pretty confusing for the less mathematically knowledgeable among us.]

par Paul G

Nov 28, 2018

Assumes that after reading something for an hour you can clearly understand specific object motions and measurements and technical terms that describe them. Spatial visualization, even distinguishing East from West and degrees of declination and right ascension is not clear and simple to all, unless you've been at it for quite some time. The exams get stuck in these descriptions and discernment and do little to further the understanding of Archaeoastronomy. Simple sundials, stone circles, as seen in Canada from indigenous peoples also attest to the understanding of celestial motions and sky observations by ancient cultures. No temple or grand monument is required to highlight ancient interest in sky motions. Aside from this shortfall the course is interesting and visually rich.

par Luis F L B

May 23, 2020

El curso me ha resultado muy interesante, me ha proporcionado nuevos conocimientos, me resultó bastante asombroso los conocimientos que tenían las civilizaciones antiguas respecto de la astronomía y la manera en que se vincula a la religión, a la arquitectura, a la política, a la economía, a las matemáticas, al arte, a la geografía; a través de este curso se puede constatar el avanzado desarrollo de las civilizaciones a las que se hace referencia en el curso. Los seis primeros módulos tienen un formato distinto del último que no tiene ningún video que desarrolle o explique un poco más la información. Gracias.

par Sorella F

Sep 26, 2018

I found this course extremely interesting! However once it came to the actual astronomy theory I found the explanations to be very short. As a consequence some of the tests were HILARIOUSLY difficult and unrealistic. The questions that were asked (week 1 and week 6) could not possibly be answered with the information provided in the course. Also I thought it was a pity the sixth week was mostly reading, with no videos. In short - definitely take this course for the interesting content, but beware of the astronomically difficult tests in week 1 and 6 ;)

par Pamela S

Jul 14, 2017

I found the lectures about the architecture and its relationship to the environment fascinating and impressive. The material was well presented and I could answer the quiz questions easily by reviewing my notes. The lectures about actual astronomical measurement did not familiarize me with those concepts and I had a very difficult time passing the two tests on that material. I did search out some additional information about azimuth but I did not do that for all the astronomical terms and concepts.

par Leonardo T M

May 07, 2020

Excelente, soy novato en astronomía, sin embargo quería aprender sobre alineamientos, constelaciones, azimut y declinaciones, además de las curiosidades y enigmas que las grandes civilizaciones dejaron plasmadas en sus construcciones. Lo único malo del curso, es la dificultad de los tests, la mayoría de las preguntas se obtienen por razonamiento o jugando el software Stellarium, pero uno tarda en aprender a usarlo. Gracias al equipo del Politécnico de Milano por este maravilloso curso.

par Tessa D V

Apr 26, 2018

This was a very interesting course. I joined out of curiosity and finished the whole thing in a couple weeks time. I'm a complete newbie to the subject but still managed to grasp most of it.

Some of the lessons are a LOT more challenging than others though. I especially struggled with the last week's materials but did manage to get the majority of it in the end. All in all, definitely worth taking if you have an interest in the subject.

par Francisco J M N

Mar 29, 2020

Un curso sorprendente, que te replantea la manera de observar la arquitectura antigua y la relación que los antiguos tenían con los astros, tan fuertemente arraigada. Ha sido muy ameno y en todo momento ha conseguido mantener mi interés y despertar mi curiosidad sobre nuevos emplazamientos y su relación con el cielo. Tengo una nueva visión de los monumentos de la antigüedad. Ya sé cómo debo mirarlos ahora.

par Fethi O Ö

Jul 07, 2017

First of all many thanks for University Politecnico Di Milano,Coursera community and Mr.Giulio Magli Proffesor.Archaeoastronomy isn' well known subject by the people in the world But all branches of sciences. are interested in each others.Differences between of archaeology and astronomy are the places where work.You are looking to the past always in both. I felt ike timetraveller here.

par Lerato T K

Mar 15, 2018

As a basic course on the rudimentary elements of what constitute archeoastronomy it is very informative and a good grounding for anyone seeking to learn about how astronomy has been part of the social and cultural life of human evolution, and in some ways the roots that led to the birth of Astro physics from ancient times.

par Álvaro E P C

Jun 26, 2017

Muy buen curso. Los test son suelen irse por detalles que con frecuencia pasan inadvertidos. Me gustó mucho y aprendí mucho.

Si algo se me complicó particularmente, fue el acento del instructor. tuve que basarme mucho en las transcripciones para lograr una comprensión más cabal de los temas. De cualquier forma, muy bueno.

par Mahbub A K

Oct 15, 2017

It's a great course about ancient archaeology with its relation with astrology. It is apparently new subject but developing much rapid pace. It will shade light on many things which are clouded by current pseudo science of ancient astronauts. Only difficulty I face with this course is the accent of the instructor.

par Zeta

Apr 01, 2020

Fascinating course! I really enjoyed it. I will definitely read more about archaeoastronomy. The length of the course and the materials used were just about right. Thank you all for making it possible. As a total novice on the matter, I found it easy to follow. Overall a very interesting course!

par Antonia d C B

Mar 27, 2018

Very good course to give you a basic overview of archaeoastronomy as a branch of science. The quiz questions tend to be too "technical" and sometimes really challenging as it requires a lot of focusing on the parts where astronomical phenomena are described. The course could be longer.

par Daniel S

Mar 28, 2017

Loved the course videos and lectures were entertaining. I was a bit dissappointed with the outright dismissal of non-traditional understnadings of these ancient monuments and thought the explanations on why and how they were built, were lightly treated.

A great course ...

par Vladislav K

Aug 25, 2017

Very good! This is uniqe scientific course. The Author gives a complete and important informaion about the connections between visible sky and buildings on the Earth. I give four stars to this course because no practical methodic for evaluation of the ancient sites is given.

par Sophie V

Mar 25, 2020

The lectures in the course were really good, but in the last week, all of the course material was just reading and a quiz that asked questions that don't appear to have been fully addressed in the text, which was frustrating after the clarity of the other units.

par Norma J

Aug 14, 2020

Excellent survey class. I don't think I was qualified as the professor presents fomulae and concepts which went way WAY over my head mathematically. Terms were so foreign to me I wish I had taken a preliminary course. Very cool world tour of related sites.

par Alan G

Aug 26, 2020

Quizzes in weeks 1 & 7 were much more difficult than those in weeks 2-6. an enjoyable course that certainly will give me a different perspective when watching some of the programmes on the various Discovery/National Geographic channels!

par James C

Mar 01, 2018

Very interesting topic. Extremely enjoyable. Appreciate the technical introduction to the topics, but would have appreciated a little more big picture. I'm still wondering about the real motivations behind these ancient structures.