Chevron Left
Retour à Archaeoastronomy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Archaeoastronomy par Politecnico di Milano

4.5
étoiles
827 évaluations
253 avis

À propos du cours

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Meilleurs avis

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 251 Avis pour Archaeoastronomy

par Christopher F

Dec 28, 2019

Great introductory course.

par Harshit S

May 07, 2020

Nice learning experience!

par Richard K

May 26, 2017

interesting perspective

par LITTY C

May 21, 2020

informative.

par Amairani R F

Apr 10, 2019

muy bueno

par Sharon M

Jun 18, 2020

Interesting course but could do with much better explanation of astronomical information, as I found myself becoming lost with trying to work out some of the data regarding relative planetary positions during the tests. Also I found the point of view of the tutor very narrow minded, although this is expected of mainstream scholars who fail to accept the findings of alternative researchers - for example, no mention of the clear alignments of the Giza Pyramids to the stars of the constellation of Orion... he mentions that the pyramids were 'tombs'! though no Pharoah's remains were ever found in a pyramid - they were buried in the Valley of the Kings! Regarding the tutor's comment about Tihuanaco - the alignments match 15 millennia ago but 'what do you think is more likely...', a slight error from the builders of this magnificent construction or the errors of (mainstream) archaeologists - I go with with the errors of the (mainstream) archaeologists every time! I would very much like to hear the tutor's explanation of how the pyramids were built when modern technology is unable to replicate.

par Jay G

Nov 13, 2017

Very interesting information. I am going to pursue this field and it was good to learn first hand what to expect. However, I found both the Speaker and viewpoint very biased. There comes a time when the world has to realize that People of Color belong in it. In history, and in the beginning of time. Sorry, we did not just evolve when Europeans enslaved us. And our names were not Toby or slaves. This is something that was done to us, not who we are or ever were. We were and continue to be of a highly race of people, damaged and trodded upon by European thinking. Especially, its constant need to write us out of history. Therefore, this very informative class suffered two stars.

par Radek C

Mar 25, 2020

Nice lecture but your obsession regarding so-called "pseudo" science ruins it. I have visited almost all the sites you were talking about personally (Egypt, Peru, Bolivia, Cambodia...) and I have to say that, in many cases, official archeology cannot hold water.

Archeology itself is very inaccurate science especially when looking at ancient civilizations. It is creating theories that usually cannot be properly proved or are backed up by inexact and misinterpreted radiocarbon dating.

I hope that archaeoastronomy will help archaeologists to open their minds and change their views on history, namely the dating of stone monuments.

par Sylvie B

Aug 14, 2020

Mixed review. General impression; think of it as touring very popular touristic sites with a well-paid professor providing more in-depth knowledge than the typical, local less well-paid tour guide. Positives: high quality visuals, short duration, useful information for trip planning, no multiple choice answers (which is very handy for the extremely difficult quiz on week 7). Negatives: bad enunciation of words ending in "ed", questionable audio quality, uneven content between weeks (week 7 is unnecessary and extremely diff

par Kate G

Apr 23, 2017

This course has amazing information in the lectures, but it is difficult in the video lectures to pick out what bits of information are going to be relevant in the quizzes, you will have to re-take quizzes a number of times, no matter how well you are taking notes. Also the very last section is entirely made of a rushed-maths lesson, and a quiz based on that rushed maths lesson that is VERY difficult. I would highly recommend this for anyone who already knows basic Astronomy Math, and caution anyone who doesn't.

par Angel B

Jan 03, 2018

I initially really enjoyed this class. I just feel that the last week felt tacked out. The same care was not given to it that was given to the other ones when it came to lectures et al. And talking about the moon and venus, I feel this could have been handled in similar ways to the other sections of the course to make it palpable, a visceral experience of the information instead of just bleating back info from articles.

par Jinisha L

May 21, 2018

The content was really good,especially unraveling the astronomical connection behind monumental architecture around the world. However, as a layperson the astronomy part was difficult to understand. So you will have to go through that part multiple times. I even enlisted the help of an astronomy enthusiast to further break things down for me.

par Julia S

Jul 20, 2020

The information was really cool, but I had a hard time understanding the professor at points. I used subtitles most of the time, but then when week 7 hit there were no more videos, and I think it would have been more beneficial to have videos in that week to talk about the mathematical concepts in the readings.

par Jillian L K

Mar 04, 2020

Very interesting information about the connection between ancient monuments and the alignment with astronomical constellations. The instructor had a very heavy accent and was difficult to understand, however he seemed very well versed in Archaeoastronomy.

par Joy S

Sep 05, 2017

Should be a fascinating subject. Ancient peoples knew a lot about the stars and placed structures so as to observe them in various ways. Instructor has an extremely strong accent. Almost need subtitles.

par Rhiannon H

Jun 25, 2018

A good course but I needed a better understanding of the basic astronomy before starting, the archaeology sections by comparison were easy so and could have been more complex

par Robert M

Sep 09, 2020

Found it difficult due to pronunciation of English with a strong Italian accent

par Charlotte K

May 07, 2020

Very interesting and enjoyable although some parts were difficult to understand.

par Emma R

Feb 04, 2017

interesting course but you cant do the tests if you didnt pay money (any tasts)

par ishita

Jun 24, 2020

More material , little fun was 2 things which was missing.

par Bruno M e M

May 20, 2020

very astronomic, little anthropological

par Sara F

Feb 13, 2017

The contents of the course are interesting however it is a shame that you can only access the quiz portion and assesments if you pay for the certificate. Same with the materials, it would be great if the readings and the suggested bibliography details could be downloaded.

par Malladi R G K

Jul 08, 2020

this course gave some facts but failed to explain them clear enough. The videos explained fair enough but week 7 is horrible only containing texts and its real hard to imagine the conditions

par Jessica M

May 20, 2020

Information was interesting, however I finished the full course in 2 days and didn't find the presentation of the information or the assessments to be very intriguing.

par Aslı T

Oct 14, 2018

The teacher rushes through the material and it's very hard to understand. It's a wonderful subject but could be taught way better.