Chevron Left
Retour à Archaeoastronomy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Archaeoastronomy par Politecnico di Milano

4.5
étoiles
613 évaluations
186 avis

À propos du cours

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Meilleurs avis

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 185 Avis pour Archaeoastronomy

par Francisco J M N

Mar 29, 2020

Un curso sorprendente, que te replantea la manera de observar la arquitectura antigua y la relación que los antiguos tenían con los astros, tan fuertemente arraigada. Ha sido muy ameno y en todo momento ha conseguido mantener mi interés y despertar mi curiosidad sobre nuevos emplazamientos y su relación con el cielo. Tengo una nueva visión de los monumentos de la antigüedad. Ya sé cómo debo mirarlos ahora.

par Fethi O Ö

Jul 07, 2017

First of all many thanks for University Politecnico Di Milano,Coursera community and Mr.Giulio Magli Proffesor.Archaeoastronomy isn' well known subject by the people in the world But all branches of sciences. are interested in each others.Differences between of archaeology and astronomy are the places where work.You are looking to the past always in both. I felt ike timetraveller here.

par Lerato T K

Mar 15, 2018

As a basic course on the rudimentary elements of what constitute archeoastronomy it is very informative and a good grounding for anyone seeking to learn about how astronomy has been part of the social and cultural life of human evolution, and in some ways the roots that led to the birth of Astro physics from ancient times.

par Álvaro E P C

Jun 26, 2017

Muy buen curso. Los test son suelen irse por detalles que con frecuencia pasan inadvertidos. Me gustó mucho y aprendí mucho.

Si algo se me complicó particularmente, fue el acento del instructor. tuve que basarme mucho en las transcripciones para lograr una comprensión más cabal de los temas. De cualquier forma, muy bueno.

par Mahbub A K

Oct 15, 2017

It's a great course about ancient archaeology with its relation with astrology. It is apparently new subject but developing much rapid pace. It will shade light on many things which are clouded by current pseudo science of ancient astronauts. Only difficulty I face with this course is the accent of the instructor.

par Zeta

Apr 01, 2020

Fascinating course! I really enjoyed it. I will definitely read more about archaeoastronomy. The length of the course and the materials used were just about right. Thank you all for making it possible. As a total novice on the matter, I found it easy to follow. Overall a very interesting course!

par Antonia d C B

Mar 27, 2018

Very good course to give you a basic overview of archaeoastronomy as a branch of science. The quiz questions tend to be too "technical" and sometimes really challenging as it requires a lot of focusing on the parts where astronomical phenomena are described. The course could be longer.

par Daniel S

Mar 28, 2017

Loved the course videos and lectures were entertaining. I was a bit dissappointed with the outright dismissal of non-traditional understnadings of these ancient monuments and thought the explanations on why and how they were built, were lightly treated.

A great course ...

par Vladislav K

Aug 25, 2017

Very good! This is uniqe scientific course. The Author gives a complete and important informaion about the connections between visible sky and buildings on the Earth. I give four stars to this course because no practical methodic for evaluation of the ancient sites is given.

par Sophie V

Mar 25, 2020

The lectures in the course were really good, but in the last week, all of the course material was just reading and a quiz that asked questions that don't appear to have been fully addressed in the text, which was frustrating after the clarity of the other units.

par James C

Mar 01, 2018

Very interesting topic. Extremely enjoyable. Appreciate the technical introduction to the topics, but would have appreciated a little more big picture. I'm still wondering about the real motivations behind these ancient structures.

par William R N J

Jun 10, 2017

Interesting, but a bit confusing in dealing with the more technical aspects of archaeoastronomy. I would have benefited from spending a bit more time on the nuts and bolts of the movements of the sun, moon, and stars.

par Наталья Л

Jul 15, 2017

I really enjoyed the vieos which were enlightening and interesting as a wonderful guided tour, however in my opinion the videos didn't emphasize some aspects necessary for completing the course successfully

par Alejandro G

Apr 25, 2020

Very interesting course.

the test was sometimes a bit difficult for a "begginers" level, and some questions were difficult to answer based only on the course material

But was a good experience overall

par James E M

Jun 04, 2017

I volunteer at a public observatory in the UK and wanted some extra material for our guests. I thought Archeoastronomy would be an inspiring and insightful topic to add to the history of astronomy.

par Barry H

Jun 14, 2017

Helpful in achieving a good basic understanding of the technical aspects of astronomy and as a good general introduction to the study of archaeoastronomy. Clearly presented and well illustrated.

par Christian Y G

Jun 18, 2017

Excelente para abrir la panorámica mental arquitectónica arqueológica sobre nuestro pasado en edificaciones milenarias. El último cuestionario fue muy capcioso y no muy coherente.

par Paulo B

Apr 05, 2020

Very interesting but sometimes hard to understand for someone without previous knowledge about Astronomy. I will definitely look at sites with different eyes from now on.

par kouassi n c

Sep 16, 2017

c'est un bon cours il faut bien se familiariser avec le vocabulaire astronomique pour pouvoir suivre et il permet d'enrichir ses connaissances sur des lieux mythiques

par MARIA L R G

Nov 11, 2018

IT WAS VERY INTRESTING, I'VE LEARN A LOT BUT ALSO STILL MANY THINGS THAT I DON´T UNDERSTAND BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE A BACKGROUND OF ASTRONOMY NOR PHISYCS

par Roberto Z

Nov 08, 2017

Nice course to understand the basics of Archaeoastronomy. Sometimes I felt the questions are bit far, at least in language, from the lectures.

par SAMUEL L R

Apr 28, 2017

Excelente , la presentación y el modo como el tutor explica los temas interactuando con los videos, es novedoso y de muy facil asimilación.

par Elena F

Sep 09, 2018

The last week was a little bit content intensive, and I would have preferred if this contents was spread out more evenly over the weeks.

par Rashmi R K

Jan 15, 2019

Informative course. But so many archeoastronomical places were not covered. It would have been much better with those included as well.

par Jen P

Nov 06, 2019

Interesting material; presentation quite good but the answers to the quiz questions were not always discernable from the lectures.