Chevron Left
Retour à Archaeoastronomy

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Archaeoastronomy par Politecnico di Milano

4.5
442 notes
130 avis

À propos du cours

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Meilleurs avis

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 129 Examens pour Archaeoastronomy

par soraia r j

Aug 16, 2019

Um curso muito bom para quem gosta desta área

par antonio b

Sep 12, 2019

It changed my way to look at historical sites. I will try to deepen some of the concept and apply them to my travels with my family. for example I checked the Augustus temple in Vienna (France) and nimes (Place career) following the investigation during this summer course. One missing chapter though is the naming of the days in the calendar following the only visible planets in the sky: it would be interesting following this in the different civilisations.

par William T

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

par Jesús G c V

Jun 13, 2019

genial

par Fiona L

Sep 25, 2019

A really interesting course, both wide-ranging and detailed. I found some of the astronomical data hard to get my head around, but still thoroughly enjoyed the course - thank you!

par Christopher R

Oct 10, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course into a fascinating aspect of science and history. There were aspects that were challenging (Mathematics/Equations as well as the lecturers thick Italian accent), but overall, I found it to be eye-opening and rewarding.

par Paul G

Nov 28, 2018

Assumes that after reading something for an hour you can clearly understand specific object motions and measurements and technical terms that describe them. Spatial visualization, even distinguishing East from West and degrees of declination and right ascension is not clear and simple to all, unless you've been at it for quite some time. The exams get stuck in these descriptions and discernment and do little to further the understanding of Archaeoastronomy. Simple sundials, stone circles, as seen in Canada from indigenous peoples also attest to the understanding of celestial motions and sky observations by ancient cultures. No temple or grand monument is required to highlight ancient interest in sky motions. Aside from this shortfall the course is interesting and visually rich.

par Rashmi R K

Jan 15, 2019

Informative course. But so many archeoastronomical places were not covered. It would have been much better with those included as well.

par Amairani R F

Apr 10, 2019

muy bueno

par Elena F

Sep 09, 2018

The last week was a little bit content intensive, and I would have preferred if this contents was spread out more evenly over the weeks.

par Sorella F

Sep 26, 2018

I found this course extremely interesting! However once it came to the actual astronomy theory I found the explanations to be very short. As a consequence some of the tests were HILARIOUSLY difficult and unrealistic. The questions that were asked (week 1 and week 6) could not possibly be answered with the information provided in the course. Also I thought it was a pity the sixth week was mostly reading, with no videos. In short - definitely take this course for the interesting content, but beware of the astronomically difficult tests in week 1 and 6 ;)

par MARIA L R G

Nov 11, 2018

IT WAS VERY INTRESTING, I'VE LEARN A LOT BUT ALSO STILL MANY THINGS THAT I DON´T UNDERSTAND BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE A BACKGROUND OF ASTRONOMY NOR PHISYCS

par Gerardo S

Nov 15, 2018

bueno pero falta una traducción completa al español

par Pete H

Nov 26, 2017

Very informative enjoyable course; interesting and engaging presentations reinforced with good quizzes to test knowledge gained.

par William R N J

Jun 10, 2017

Interesting, but a bit confusing in dealing with the more technical aspects of archaeoastronomy. I would have benefited from spending a bit more time on the nuts and bolts of the movements of the sun, moon, and stars.

par SAMUEL L R

Apr 28, 2017

Excelente , la presentación y el modo como el tutor explica los temas interactuando con los videos, es novedoso y de muy facil asimilación.

par Lerato T K

Mar 15, 2018

As a basic course on the rudimentary elements of what constitute archeoastronomy it is very informative and a good grounding for anyone seeking to learn about how astronomy has been part of the social and cultural life of human evolution, and in some ways the roots that led to the birth of Astro physics from ancient times.

par Ines G

Feb 20, 2018

Very interestig. Sometimes the English was hard to grasp.

par Vladislav K

Aug 25, 2017

Very good! This is uniqe scientific course. The Author gives a complete and important informaion about the connections between visible sky and buildings on the Earth. I give four stars to this course because no practical methodic for evaluation of the ancient sites is given.

par Barry H

Jun 14, 2017

Helpful in achieving a good basic understanding of the technical aspects of astronomy and as a good general introduction to the study of archaeoastronomy. Clearly presented and well illustrated.

par Anne H

Jan 23, 2018

Brief but extremely complex

par Наталья Л

Jul 15, 2017

I really enjoyed the vieos which were enlightening and interesting as a wonderful guided tour, however in my opinion the videos didn't emphasize some aspects necessary for completing the course successfully

par Amy B

Apr 25, 2018

Fascinating topic and information. Love the way the speaker shows up on site! Quizzes were really difficult.

par Tessa D V

Apr 26, 2018

This was a very interesting course. I joined out of curiosity and finished the whole thing in a couple weeks time. I'm a complete newbie to the subject but still managed to grasp most of it.

Some of the lessons are a LOT more challenging than others though. I especially struggled with the last week's materials but did manage to get the majority of it in the end. All in all, definitely worth taking if you have an interest in the subject.

par James E M

Jun 04, 2017

I volunteer at a public observatory in the UK and wanted some extra material for our guests. I thought Archeoastronomy would be an inspiring and insightful topic to add to the history of astronomy.