Chevron Left
Retour à Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods par Université technique du Danemark (DTU)

4.7
étoiles
2,141 évaluations

À propos du cours

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Meilleurs avis

FH

30 déc. 2020

As a microbiology student, I can say that I've learned so many theoretical and practical methods involving antimicrobial resistance as well as bacteriology in general. Huge thanks to great lecturers!

MW

22 juil. 2021

Very clear and informative to give insights about what's happening in the area of antimicrobial resistance, as well as the urgency to do identification and surveilance of antimicrobial resistance

Filtrer par :

326 - 350 sur 456 Avis pour Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

par Ricardo A

17 août 2017

Excelente

par Fabricio Y A

4 nov. 2016

muy bueno

par Flavio T R

5 sept. 2022

Excelent

par Shumya A

22 oct. 2020

Thanks.

par Jaime E

27 nov. 2016

exlente

par Paulina J O

4 nov. 2022

Genial

par Mintu S T

2 oct. 2020

Cool!!

par PRAKASH R

2 juin 2020

super

par Mohamed H H E

3 déc. 2021

Good

par BHUVANESHWARI S P

20 oct. 2020

Good

par ABHRAJIT D

19 sept. 2020

good

par Balakumaran T

16 juil. 2020

good

par Mona A A

19 juin 2020

g

o

o

d

par Utkarsha M

25 juin 2020

..

par Abhishek k

7 juin 2020

No

par Jerin T

7 sept. 2020

a

par Santosh B

23 juin 2020

.

par Adhiambo L O

2 mai 2017

I enjoyed this course. It was quite informative and good in introducing some concepts for me like the QA/QC/QM topic that I was not very familiar with. A good follow-up would be to present a course on how to build laboratory capacity in this area for countries wanting to get better at AST. I would also suggest that some of the presentations be shortened particularly those which will be presented in much more detail later to avoid the doubling up of information eg like the section on methods were covered almost twice for some material. Also, I would like to suggest use of practical examples when trying to explain these concepts. I thought you presented them well but for better understanding, use practical case study examples showing how you handle the situation in the lab. For example, provide us with when these methods are applied so they are not just random.

Thank you for this course and I look forward to your follow-up course.

par David F

10 oct. 2017

Very detailed and well-explained course. Covers a wide variety of areas in microbiology from resistance mechanisms to even the importance of quality control/standardisation. I would highly reccommend this course to anyone looking to improve their understanding of antimicrobial resistance. As a side note, I was very impressed with the presentation of this course and how, despite being an 'intermediate' level course, you can easily understand and learn from it if you have at least done AS level biology or whatever the equivalent is in your country. :D

par Roshan

4 oct. 2017

A nearly perfect course hat gave me entirely new perspective on how antibiotic research are done. What I studied at my university war far less than what is presented here. Much thanks to the instructors and professors who made this course possible. Also thanks to everyone working behind the scene to make the study material available and accessible. Highly recommended to every single person who wants insights on AMR crisis and AMR research.

Eagerly waiting more course from the team and DTU.

par Alejandro M

14 août 2017

I´m a Microbiologist working in a clinical lab. At this moment my goal was to remember and to practice certain knowldge that is remarkable for my duty. This course help me to do exactly this but its a shame that was a bit too concentrated in the quality control and this sort of things than the actual resistance, i know its an essential part but in my opinion it doesn't fit that much. Really liked the updated topics and the useful slides. It was a pleasant experience.

par Aadarsh

28 nov. 2022

The sessions were made to be pretty to the point as well as easy to understand. I feel demonstrations of techniques would have been more helpful. The up to date information was of much help as it is difficult to find through text books.

I thought this would include susceptibility tests for organisms other than bacteria like fungi as well. If not in detail, then at least in brief about the drugs, classes and difference in methods to that of bacterial tests.

par Ayse S K

7 mai 2020

Lecture and tutorial (Lina CAVACO) in the first weeks was very fluid and sincere. He even described complex issues in an illustrative way. In general, the course also provided very enlightening information about antimicrobial drugs. However, the topics in recent weeks were a bit detailed and my frequency did not match with the narrators. I would like to thank all the teachers and those who contributed to the course. Good work

par Yuri C

10 avr. 2017

Good course, gives a good notion of the basics. Very technical (as in it emphasizes more the technical part of antimicrobial testing) and basic (in the theoretical part). I'm an MD student, currently on my final year. The course brought up new aspects to the antibiogram that I was oblivious about, something that I think is very important for the modern-age physician.

par Marinela V d F M

19 juin 2020

The course was very interesting, clear and objective. I learned a lot about AMR, and how to work with AMR at the laboratory and how to report the results with world, now I am more clarified in how to start working in my country in particular in my my lab with AMR.

I want to thank you the Doctors for all the lectures.

Thank you from Angola