Chevron Left
Retour à Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel par Université Duke

4.2
3,011 notes
673 avis

À propos du cours

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Meilleurs avis

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 656 Examens pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

par Giovanni V

Jan 25, 2016

This is a great course.

par Nikolay L

Jan 15, 2016

Excellent and reasonably challenging course. One of the courses that would be extremely hard without a solid foundation in maths.

The final project is massive and time-consuming - I didn't see it coming and was surprised, not in a good way ;) You better start working on the final assignment since the beginning of the course.

par Dengjiahao

Feb 09, 2016

Very good Courses!

par Stepan P

Nov 14, 2015

Great Course! Thanks)

par 陈思达

Oct 29, 2015

This course is amazing! Very useful for students who are looking for data-driven position. Thanks for sharing.

par Stevie X Y

Mar 23, 2016

Good content but badly structured

par Simran K

Dec 18, 2015

Great one

par Danny I

May 14, 2016

Dense! Very Dense. Cool testing methods.

par Adriana B Q

Feb 07, 2016

So far so good!!

par Galina

Jan 13, 2016

Thank you very much for great course.

I have some difficult with this course and I did not finish it. Whatever the course was very interesting.

par Martin S

Sep 30, 2016

I read some of the other reviews and feel I should comment on some of their criticisms.

The material, objectives and tuition are top-notch. Yes there are things that are unclear and difficult and I you will need to read around the subjects introduced from other sources and persevere.

But that is how you will learn and remember.

So far I have yet to complete the course, I am about to start my 4th attempt, but I get a little further each time and the next presentation acts as revision initially. Daniel Eggar introduces key concepts that you need to master, this course is not spoon fed, but is better for it.

If I have a criticism, perhaps the course is badly named, maybe it should be called "Core statistical concepts for data science using Excel"

par Rogelio R G

Oct 26, 2015

Excellent Idea and concept, thank you!

par Andres F G P

Dec 03, 2017

Very good learning experience

par Oscar B

Mar 07, 2016

Great Course, it's a useful tool to improve your excel, and your Knowledge in statistics.

par Chandler

Mar 24, 2016

very helpful and useful in real case

par Alfred H

Feb 11, 2016

Clear, concise and clean communication! Thank you!

par Hari T

Oct 23, 2015

great experience with great faculties and learning basics with smart ways thank you

par Seshadri G

Jun 28, 2017

I got to learn life skills that are essential for a data analyst. The biggest addition to my knowledge via this course would have to be binary classification and entropy. Although I was familiar with the theory of probability and statistics prior to taking this course, everything was brought into perspective or context in this course. Grateful to Prof. Egger for his enoromous efforts in recording the videos and providing the spreadsheets for our practice and future use.

par Eugene T

Dec 20, 2015

Very challenging course that is very insightful in the use of Excel for Data Analysis

par 何欣

Jan 15, 2016

Very useful!!!

par Kubra K S

Sep 21, 2016

Egger is very well instructor. The course is useful.

par Junaid K

Dec 24, 2015

Excellent course. Focusses mainly on data analysis in Excel rather that teaching you all excel function. A good way to learn both. I recommend anyone interested in data analysis to take this course. The exercises are challenging to answer. It's fun solving them

par Majid A

Feb 18, 2016

Simply if define it in one word. EXCELLENT!!

par Jose J

Dec 20, 2015

很有趣的课程,作为基础性的知识很好地引导了学生的兴趣

par Jiarong Y

Jan 04, 2016

挺好的,增加了对excel的认知