Chevron Left
Retour à Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel par Université Duke

4.2
étoiles
3,642 évaluations
869 avis

À propos du cours

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Meilleurs avis

JE
30 oct. 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
13 oct. 2020

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

Filtrer par :

601 - 625 sur 848 Avis pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

par Skyler M

4 août 2016

This course is very challenging. I may not have had the proper background in mathematics to full absorb the material. Similarly I may have to busy of a lifestyle to have properly focused on this class.

par John E P

9 août 2018

This course was very informative, but in my opinion it has a very steep learning curve. The course takes some very steep jumps from basic concepts to building binary models with out a lot or guidance.

par Pylo N

24 oct. 2020

The course is not bad, however, the final assignment is not explained sufficiently. Instructors should provide a more clear approach and information given that this course is for beginners as well!

par Dove

7 déc. 2018

Too much math makes it difficult to comprehend. I like week 1, basic excel also practical and easy to understand. But after week 1 everything becomes super confusing... The frustration is real.

par Qinwei W

9 juil. 2017

This requries you other mathmatic or stastical background. So when you choose this course, you need check if you have master these knowledge. Otherwise this course will be so hard to you.

par Andrés A S N

14 juil. 2020

The concepts that this course offers are extremely interesting and useful, however I think some of them are not fully explained, so you might have to do more research on your own.

par Bader A A

21 oct. 2019

the data in this course is more as methodology than descriptive, he should have explained more about the real use of methods in data analysis because you will stuck a lot

par Ketaki N

26 juil. 2020

Lectures were good, but directions and guidance for quizzes and project had some knowledge gaps, had to utilize outside resources to understand complete certain concepts

par Zuoren P

28 juin 2016

Quiz does not require hands-on experience of creating templates but rather simply plugging in numbers. Students may forget most of the content after finishing the quiz.

par Vira Z

24 juin 2020

The course is good, but in some aspects over-complicated. I requires deep understanding in statistics and give not many insight regarding the Excel functionality

par Mustafa F A

28 juil. 2019

not easy and enough documents. It does not teach excel. Excel is a bait for the ones who want to learn excel. The name should have been mastering data analysis

par Eduardo L G

31 déc. 2015

The course gives you interesting analysis tools, but the title suggests you are going to learn new Excel tools, and you actually use it at a very low level.

par kuldeep s

20 août 2016

Getting more theoretical and less practical application on Excel application. Advanced Data interpretation and solving methods information can be included.

par Dat L

25 mars 2016

It was hard to follow along with the lessons, because it was mainly present in formulas. More examples might help students relate the information better.

par Apostolos Z

29 juin 2020

Nice working material, however lectures don't go into deep, so you have to do a lot of research on your own and figure out what's going on in many cases

par Runchen L

22 août 2016

Not so good. The course explains mathematical models and Excel applications but both are not detailed. There are many mistakes in PPTs and assignments.

par Isabel F

23 juil. 2020

I think that this course was a great overview, but it wasn't that clear on how it all tied together and i don't think there was enough practice given.

par Luis F

26 févr. 2018

It is great for learning statistics, but not so much Excel. Also, it doesn't prepare you very well for the final project, so pay attention to class!

par Alejandro A

28 mai 2018

Week 4 is chaotic, it leaves much to be desired. It's quality is far a way from what it could be expected for a course endorsed by Duke University.

par Babajide I

27 sept. 2016

Course only drilled down on specific aspects of excel that were inclined to regression analysis which is just one aspect used in business analysis

par Bharath P R

20 juin 2020

I found it difficult to understand some concepts and felt like some of the concepts required for some assignments were not covered deeply enough.

par CHEO Y K

17 janv. 2016

This course is good, but I feel it's too difficult. It would be good to suggest 'optional' prerequisite course if there is any. Thanks Dr. Egger.

par Yiran Y

22 août 2019

The scribble of the calculation is not helpful for learning. Would like to know more about how to build the models in excel through the videos.

par Abderrahim A

24 déc. 2016

Good material but short explanation and no detail exercises and solution practices before the final test makes the test a bite hard to resolve.

par Maryam A

12 juil. 2020

I am a student with a computer background. The course was good but for me, I needed more explanations on statistics and business metrics.