Chevron Left
Retour à Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel par Université Duke

4.2
étoiles
3,680 évaluations
881 avis

À propos du cours

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Meilleurs avis

JE
30 oct. 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
13 oct. 2020

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 860 Avis pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

par Xi L

31 juil. 2017

I don't suggest to starters without econometrics or statistics knowledge, but the course is a quite systematic with elaborate examples or templates.

par Hitan C

12 nov. 2020

It is a tough course but if you finish it you gain a lot of knowledge about statistical analysis and application using excel! I really enjoyed it!

par Amrisha

4 juin 2017

The instructor has taken every possible care to present the content in a very lucid manner, decked with illustrative examples and case analytics.

par ALVIN S S M 2

17 juin 2020

Really Intuitive course, and I really enjoyed the course content. The course is the best option if you are starting out as a Business Analyst.

par Javier L

28 nov. 2017

A very challenging course with lots of Information that will help you excel in statistics or at least gain a profound knowledge in this field.

par Galina

13 janv. 2016

Thank you very much for great course.

I have some difficult with this course and I did not finish it. Whatever the course was very interesting.

par Ndilisa M

28 sept. 2017

Great course!

I would have liked more practical linear regression example. This course has both been challenging and informative! Thank you.

par kamran s

4 juin 2018

I joined the course to learn some Excel but end up learning about Data Analysis. I enjoyed it very much it was tough but very informative.

par Peter M

23 févr. 2016

Great course for learning some data analysis with excel that is also accessible even if you have had little experience in excel before.

par Aderibigbe v d

27 oct. 2020

It is a great start for Financial Data analyst. It is so interesting that it is paves way for data scientist with applicable features.

par Duke A A

3 août 2020

Great course. Enjoyed the course as the instructor had command over the subject and explained everything perfectly to my understanding

par Marcela E

21 juin 2019

es un curso que te va a ayudar a saber manejar excel y ademas de aprender los temas básicos aprenderás de temas como teste de modelos.

par Geoff S

16 mars 2017

I enjoyed the class even though I felt it was a little over my head. I learned a lot about the processes involved in doing this work.

par Binyue X

17 mai 2020

Great information about how to use EXCEL. I suggest you watch a video on Youtube to start learning math and Data Analysis in Excel.

par Ioanna K

25 mars 2020

Really nice course, a bot difficult for someone that does not know any statistics/ econometrics. It was great! Thank you so much!!!

par Meng X

11 janv. 2016

The method of the class is very useful, and teacher has a clear explanation and illustrated it very clearly. Thank you very much!

par Ge W

18 juin 2017

Practical tools, models and templates are very sufficient in this course. It really guide me to a new world of data analysis.

par Xue L

23 oct. 2017

The course is very helpful. The final project is a very good practice and it summarized most of the knowledge in this class.

par David A R B

2 mai 2017

Really amazing course. I enjoy it. The only thing is that videos should be more explicit and deeper in the difficult topics.

par Houda A I

12 nov. 2018

The course is very enjoyable. The mathematics behind is sometimes challenging. But the Final Project makes it all worth it.

par Lisa Y

4 juin 2017

Very informative and a big learning curve for beginners. But love the guiding projects, which make sense of a lot things!

par Balachandra P H

31 mai 2018

The course was interesting and challenging. Professor Egger's lectures were very useful in understanding the concepts.

par Amar S

13 août 2017

I would recommend this course who are thinking to learn data analysis. Its your gateway to the field of data analysis.

par José G F

31 janv. 2016

It´s an excellent courser, very dynamic and fun. You´ll learn a lot of usefull techniques to use in daily life or work

par Rajat G

7 juil. 2019

Amazing .. The model predictions are really helpful and the course content made it a lot easier to understand. Kudos