Chevron Left
Retour à Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel par Université Duke

4.2
étoiles
3,805 évaluations
920 avis

À propos du cours

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Meilleurs avis

TB
16 nov. 2021

I like and appreciate courses provided through Coursera.This course is very interesting and valuable for those whose jobs do have relevance with data management .God bless Coursera and Duke University

JE
30 oct. 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

Filtrer par :

801 - 825 sur 901 Avis pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

par Michelle V

28 mars 2016

I found much of this material wasn't as applicable to excel analysis as hoped and didn't cover many of the analysis tools

par Gabriela M

15 févr. 2020

Este curso tiene mal el titulo, no trata sobre excel en absoluto, sino mas bien es un curso sobre matemáticas.

par Brianna B

4 août 2020

The instruction was lackluster and left a lot of details out, filled with mistakes that were fixed in post.

par Jairo S

11 mars 2019

The course is poorly structured, taking a lot of effort to decipher what is required in the assignments.

par Alfonso F

7 mai 2017

Some hard statistical/mathematical concepts with little explanation. Bad pacing and confusing structure.

par Hassaan K

12 janv. 2016

Content not discussed in proper detail. Instructor skims over the concepts. Its difficult to follow.

par Wings S Q

25 sept. 2016

I'm here learning Excel skills, but this course, especially week 2, does not teach Excel skills.

par Eric M

26 avr. 2021

This course is more advanced than a college stats class with not much explanation. Be prepared.

par Lidiya N

12 nov. 2017

Not enough examples on how to actually do the complicated assignment at the end of the course.

par Jaya S

26 févr. 2016

To course got tougher every week while the lecture video is not cover everything.

par 何泽林

12 avr. 2019

There are some problems with the spreadsheet, which cost me truly a lot of time.

par Jeffrey K

5 févr. 2021

Not enough instructor examples to look at and work through prior to the quiz.

par Kong L

21 janv. 2016

This course is mostly theory based and certainly not what i am expected!

par Bria M

16 août 2020

Video lessons did not prepare students for the homework assignments.

par Nazish K

3 mars 2016

This is definitely not a course for beginners .

par Achilleas B

19 oct. 2020

Hoping that next courses will be more useful.

par Edward J B

28 nov. 2019

Not what i expected for my analysis via excel

par Yishu S

4 mars 2016

This course contains too few solid content.

par Yvonne C

5 mai 2016

Too difficult. The lessons go too fast.

par Francesca M

16 nov. 2020

Won't apply to my job in any capacity

par Michael D

7 mars 2016

Week 1 a little disapointing

par Kecheng J

8 juil. 2019

many irrelevant content

par Yi L

9 mai 2016

Not quite about Excel

par Patrick R

7 oct. 2021

C​ovoluted Mess

par Scott M R

13 juin 2016

When the instructor for the course expresses amazement at the level of difficulty people are expressing in the forums that tells you a lot about how out of touch he is with what he is teaching and what is really required prerequisite knowledge.

There is minimal actual instruction in excel-most often concepts are taught much like Khan Academy, on a digital blackboard. Nothing inherently wrong with that but when your course title has the word 'EXCEL' in it one would reasonably expect the instructor to actually demonstrate using excel. Nope, not here.

If you've never heard of linear regression or Bayes Theorem don't bother with this course. Honestly. While those things may be easy to explain without the math they are very difficult concepts to implement and a simple 10 minute video won't clear the fog.

You absolutely will not 'master' data analysis with this course. I've used Excel for over 15 years, daily, and to have the gall to say your course will 'master' something with a few videos is misleading and deceptive.

If it wasn't for the TA/Mentors who do the lions share of work in the forums answering questions and deciphering the questions so students can understand them this course would be an abysmal failure.

If you're wanting to jump on the data analysis/ scientist bandwagon look elsewhere. i.e. EdX has a great course on a true introduction to data analysis that is more in line with people's impression of actually using excel in that context.

Now, having bashed the course I do believe the instructor to be a very competent and knowledgeable individual, but I feel he's been in academia too long and has grown accustomed to teaching those who've been in school continuously and still have algebra/ stats fresh in their minds vs. those who need to brush away the cobwebs. The course in more on the level of a 201 and in certain parts 401 level but not 101.