Chevron Left
Retour à Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel par Université Duke

4.2
étoiles
3,844 évaluations

À propos du cours

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Meilleurs avis

TB

16 nov. 2021

I like and appreciate courses provided through Coursera.This course is very interesting and valuable for those whose jobs do have relevance with data management .God bless Coursera and Duke University

JE

30 oct. 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

Filtrer par :

526 - 550 sur 916 Avis pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

par Chin N C

17 sept. 2019

It would be better if there has more explanation for the tests at the end, since the test neared the end is very hard.

par Tomer W

25 nov. 2019

The content is interesting and useful, however, the quizzes and tests are not always aligned with the course level.

par chen y

27 nov. 2015

good course for combining stats and excel, but it is difficult for new learners with no knowledges on stats at all

par Paul E H

20 févr. 2016

I found this course to be very challenging, but I am grateful for the knowledge and the new perspective. Thanks!

par Maharafa I C

10 nov. 2015

The course include structured elements and very usefull information to turn you quickly from beginner to master.

par Kang J N

27 juil. 2019

There were some inconsistencies between the answers provided in the quizzes and the answers in my excel sheets.

par Humberto J

21 août 2017

Good course, teaches you the framework to do analysis, not so much the design of tools in Excel. Great material

par Elvis A

6 févr. 2019

Improvement on my Excel skills to analyse data better. I wish the organisation will be much better. Thank you!

par Javier V

3 mai 2018

Nice course, could've been better explained or provide more regression models (like logistic) but good overall

par Seshadri

5 janv. 2016

I wish the duration between each week was a bit more and there was an option to chat with the faculty directly

par Smitha

8 nov. 2015

More worksheets and examples would help :) the course is quite dense in terms of the number of topics covered

par Shiv P

22 nov. 2016

Good Course so far. But lacks indepth explanation. Courses such as probability need to be taken prior to this

par Erica M

9 avr. 2016

Very heavy on the stats front, not so much on utilizing Excel but I learned some useful things in this class.

par Łukasz C

21 août 2016

This is not an easy course and some concepts/tasks weren't clearly addressed.

But the instructor is great!

par Kelly D

6 mars 2017

Solid class focused on the mechanics of building and evaluating binary classification models using Excel

par Даурен

11 janv. 2018

Finals are a bit stressing, restructuring of the load may be needed to make it more evenly distributed

par SATEESHKUMAR I

18 oct. 2016

really use full,but before this cousre we need to acquire some mathematical and statstical knowledge.

par Ji, C

19 janv. 2018

Very helpful to understand basic data analysis. The tasks in the final week are pretty challenging.

par Colin M

23 sept. 2017

Difficult learning curve, but cool concepts. I'd recommend a basic stats class before taking this.

par Cliff E

23 mai 2017

Very challenging but helpful! I will hold on to and reference the course material for a long time.

par Hubert D

31 janv. 2016

It's not only basic Excel course but you can learn a lot of useful Excel functions like log or ln.

par Michael N

18 juil. 2017

This course is hard and fast paced. Expect to stretch yourself and retrace steps to complete it.

par Samantha C

20 sept. 2016

I work with excel and thousands of lines of data everyday. I found this class to be challenging

par Chao Z

19 nov. 2015

Good topic and resources to learn. However the business terminologies sometimes are confusing.

par Alan W

14 août 2017

Very informative, but did not include a lot of analysis work with Excel. Not what I expected.