Chevron Left
Retour à Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel par Université Duke

4.2
étoiles
3,373 évaluations
787 avis

À propos du cours

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Meilleurs avis

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 766 Avis pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

par Ge W

Jun 18, 2017

Practical tools, models and templates are very sufficient in this course. It really guide me to a new world of data analysis.

par Xue L

Oct 23, 2017

The course is very helpful. The final project is a very good practice and it summarized most of the knowledge in this class.

par David A R B

May 02, 2017

Really amazing course. I enjoy it. The only thing is that videos should be more explicit and deeper in the difficult topics.

par Houda A I

Nov 13, 2018

The course is very enjoyable. The mathematics behind is sometimes challenging. But the Final Project makes it all worth it.

par Lisa Y

Jun 05, 2017

Very informative and a big learning curve for beginners. But love the guiding projects, which make sense of a lot things!

par Balachandra P H

May 31, 2018

The course was interesting and challenging. Professor Egger's lectures were very useful in understanding the concepts.

par Amar S

Aug 13, 2017

I would recommend this course who are thinking to learn data analysis. Its your gateway to the field of data analysis.

par José G F

Jan 31, 2016

It´s an excellent courser, very dynamic and fun. You´ll learn a lot of usefull techniques to use in daily life or work

par Rajat G

Jul 07, 2019

Amazing .. The model predictions are really helpful and the course content made it a lot easier to understand. Kudos

par KOKONDA V

Nov 16, 2015

The course is amazing and has introduced me to new frontiers of excel which will be helpful in my professional life.

par Cameron H

Oct 27, 2015

Excellent course in excel tools, probability problems and theoretical thinking skills to apply to business problems!

par Jayson C

May 30, 2020

Challenging course. Brings the fundamentals, theory, practice and commercial use cases together. Highly recommended

par Zulfiya Y

Jun 20, 2020

I feel myself smarter after this course :) thank you for providing such powerful tools in such effective manner!

par Javier C

Dec 21, 2015

Awesome course; it's not only about the tool, but mostly about the rationale behind what to do and how to do it.

par RISHI D S

Jun 09, 2020

A great course to start off with excel and reach a point where you can build forecasting and regression models.

par 陈思达

Oct 29, 2015

This course is amazing! Very useful for students who are looking for data-driven position. Thanks for sharing.

par Christopher M

Aug 14, 2017

Excellent course. I came in a very good user of Microsoft Excel and have left being a much better user. Simpl

par Serdar Y

Oct 10, 2017

It was a great experience for me. I learned a lot on analyzing data in business area.

Excited to learn more.!

par Angela K

Feb 19, 2017

Great class! The teachers explained everything in detail, looking forward to takmore classes in the future!

par Aditya P V Y

Aug 14, 2016

This is not a basic excel training. The title is appropriately set as "Mastering" Data Analysis in Excel...

par Anuj S

Feb 15, 2016

Like the course content. Though I know lot many function in Excel, but solve was new and kind a unique one.

par João S

Dec 15, 2015

Loved the course! I still need to review some topics to make them clear in my mind but I really enjoyed! :D

par Mike A

Feb 13, 2016

Excellent class. Much tougher than expected. I went in thiinking I was an Excel guru, and learned a ton.

par Ruth D

Dec 25, 2017

Really enjoyed it, felt challenged and engaged, and learnt a lot of valuable information and techniques!

par Yingyu G

Mar 25, 2016

This course really tortured me , but really worth the time and effort, I did learn something by heart :)