Chevron Left
Retour à Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel par Université Duke

4.2
étoiles
3,842 évaluations

À propos du cours

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Meilleurs avis

TB

16 nov. 2021

I like and appreciate courses provided through Coursera.This course is very interesting and valuable for those whose jobs do have relevance with data management .God bless Coursera and Duke University

JE

30 oct. 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

Filtrer par :

501 - 525 sur 916 Avis pour Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

par Pengtao L

22 avr. 2016

quite a lot techniques to learn. Just wish they could explain more about applications of those techniques, in more details, which however might be hard to get done in 5 weeks though.

par Klaus v K

18 sept. 2017

An in depth deep dive into the mathematical concepts needed to be understood for data analysis tools and techniques. An all round good introduction into the field of data analytics.

par Luca s

14 mars 2018

I didn't rate 5 stars because I thinck there a are a few steps Prof. need really to enter more in details giving the solution to the diffent test but I really enjoied the course

par Pravesh S

8 mai 2020

Quite comprehensive on the usage of concepts taught in the course. However, bit of diversion seems to come in assignments and quizzes. Overall, very challenging and fulfilling.

par Ervandio I A

1 nov. 2020

The concept is well explained, but the explanation about how to apply the concept to the case study is confusing, even though I know the basic knowledge about statistics.

par RENJITH M

10 nov. 2019

Course is good for those who are looking to get skills in business analysis through excel. The final project does not have a proper reviewer or is not evaluated properly.

par Di Z

19 juin 2020

I really think the course should provide an example for the final project after submission because it was so confusing and none of my reviews has a good model. Thanks.

par Shalakha P

15 mars 2016

Very interactive and simple to learn course.

the video lectures are very clear to understand and worksheets are helpful to gain a better understanding of the topic.

par ISHIR C

14 mai 2020

Loved the course. Concepts have been explained in detail with interesting examples. Please try and include a more detailed explanation of linear regression.

par Bonga L

19 avr. 2016

So far i have found it useful. Most of the introduction elements are elementary but it gives you a chance to build up your knowledge and apply it as you go.

par dionisio.carvajal@gmail.com

11 janv. 2021

Very Good. At times too complicated questions for the explanations provided. Requires extra material outside the classroom not suggested and not vetted.

par Josephine

6 nov. 2016

I feel this is way too hard for people who are not good at math, or haven't studies math for a long time. Took me longer time to figure all questions out.

par Rubén M F

15 févr. 2016

I missed some more content in certain areas of the course (i.e. histograms). Apart from that, great course and great explanations by Daniel Egger!

par John S

11 avr. 2017

Very useful knowledge in this course. Although, some of the quizzes require some small fixes, and there are minor mistakes in some lectures.

par Pham T G

13 nov. 2015

Overall, the course is great except for some minor inconvenience of the lecture. Some concepts are not carefully explain like incidence etc

par Nelly R

21 nov. 2015

This course is very good! The inconvenient is the lack of exercices, however, the explanation are clear and relevant; we go to the basics.

par Anil K N

3 juin 2019

The course overall is fantastic but I feel that they should teach more through the excel spreadsheets than by using MS paint application.

par Jesús P R

20 nov. 2017

Very good course. It requires concentration, time and dedication but it is really satisfying after you learn and apply all the content.

par Chen C P

30 avr. 2017

Good for learning statistical analysis using real examples (bank credit card application) and hands on the data in the final project!

par John K

10 janv. 2022

Good course but quite difficult to follow along with all the detail. The templates given for the calculations were excellent!

par Carlos V

7 févr. 2016

Really good course, I think the most value is at the end when you are able to apply the concept learned in the final assignment

par Georgi

28 juin 2017

Sometimes it was too complicated. At some moment it seemed to be too deep in statistics. But anyway very good to participate.

par Gerardo J O

21 nov. 2015

It will be better adding examples related with engineering cases (this is for technical people in any branch of engineering).

par Bharat M

22 août 2020

Gets too complex at times. Otherwise a solid data analysis course with quite a bit of focus on the statistics part as well.

par Boris D

29 avr. 2021

nice course but little bit too hard on statistic and mathematics, more on excel will be the best!

thanks for this course