Chevron Left
Retour à Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
8,143 évaluations
1,673 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Meilleurs avis

AS

11 juin 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

AC

2 nov. 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

Filtrer par :

1501 - 1525 sur 1,641 Avis pour Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

par Alison T

20 nov. 2015

The class is a pretty nice overview of metrics in general. it is more broad than it is deep, and sometimes the videos and explanations were not the most easily digested. While the content was helpful, this class could have been greatly improved if slides were provided instead of just a transcript. Finally, some of the explanations and definitions, though interesting, weren't often well tied together. The final assignment case study was definitely useful in thinking about several of the metrics covered over the four weeks.

par Ritwick S

27 juin 2017

this course is good for people with pure technical background who has little or no idea about business. For those who have been involved in business, there isn't much new. However the best part of the course was the clear definition of various job profiles and skill sets required for each profile. Thats the best takeaway. If you have good idea about business KPIs, then you can give this course a miss. Next courses are more techinical and will help people with business background

par David G J

14 août 2017

This course is beneficial to help learn and understand the basics of business metrics. It also helps gain an understanding of the types of roles that utilize and manage data within an organization (though the it roles and responsibilities within my own organization); it helps the learner get an idea of what role they would like to work towards for their career. The final assignment (case study) seemed simple when compared to everything that was discussed throughout the cour

par Christopher A

15 oct. 2015

I found the lectures marginally useful. The instructor may know what he is talking about but takes a rather unstructured approach to articulating it. Having come from a business background and going into BI full-time, I was seeking novel ways to evaluate business performance. The glossary cheatsheets delivered on this best - but the videos I found to have simple, tired repeated perspective. It could be more useful if you have no business background whatsoever.

par Timiah B

16 sept. 2016

This was a very basic foundation course on data careers and business metrics. Gives a lot of examples of companies and their varying levels of need for data employees. There is a short segment in here on Financial services which i found to be a bit misplaced, and I would have liked more detail on the business metrics side as well as on the financial services side (if it is indeed well placed and I just didn't catch the correlation).

par Raymond R

20 févr. 2016

I would have liked the course to have been more hands on. I would have also liked to have seen other platforms utilized.

Ex:

Hypothetical situations to apply course content to.

Group assignments with real time chat.

Better formatted supplemental readings to compliment the lecture videos.

Also, I feel like the instructors failed to explain some of the business jargon used, which wasn't remedied by referencing the dictionary.

par Anastasia B

10 janv. 2019

The course structure and content is not exactly logically organised. At some moment, you get a question in your head, like, why all of a sudden they are talking about this or that? why would I need this information, if I don't plan to work in that area? Overall, seems like a collection of modules cut from the full run academic studies and tossed together in one pot.

par Deleted A

5 oct. 2018

It's great in general. It tries to give the student a general rapid knowledge which is great but hard to grasp sometimes and confusing another times especially for those like me with no previous background getting exposed to equations, definitions and business terminology. the routine lecture way and low visual or interactive learning added to the problem..

par Roxana A

29 juil. 2016

I thought that they could have gone more in depth in terms of metrics, how to calculate them, and use them in real life situations. The course seemed to focus too much on the type of companies that use data, as well as what type of jobs there are in this field. I didn't find it too relevant or helpful in terms of making me more productive at work.

par Mr. M

18 mai 2020

Student Feedback was subpar. They offered little to no feedback on the work. Week 3's content was too mathematical, in that the explanations were too quick. There were not enough supplementary resources to understand what the instructor was getting at. You will likely need a course in business math to understand the math concepts here.

par LeRoux T

10 févr. 2018

A good solid introduction to metrics that I believe will form the basis of the following courses in the specialization. The content jumps around a little bit in week 3 with some technical info that seemed out of place (hedging, stock calcs etc) but otherwise the content was useful and appropriate for the level intended.

par Devansh S

11 avr. 2020

The videos change very abruptly. There is very little flow and continuity between the videos. It feels like a collection of short videos, as compared to being a course/module. Especially Week 4, very random and not detailed.

However, full marks for Prof Egger. (Biased opinion as I have seen other videos/courses as well)

par Andrew S

1 nov. 2015

It's OK, I think there's a few areas that could use some more depth of explanation. As with a few coursera courses there seems to be an assumption that students know the material being discussed and so it isn't explained. Most of the time in this unit that isn't the case but it does occur a bit.

par Bernie M

4 janv. 2016

Good course for those with limited exposure to business metrics. Would be more valuable to include 5 or 6 standard Key Performance Indicators (KPI's) by function (marketing, sales, operations, finance), etc. that will be typically encountered in an advanced undergraduate or MBA program.

par Mauritz S

14 juin 2017

The first weeks were a nice introduction to some of the basics of what data analysis is and how it is used. Unfortunately the last week displayed none of that as the professor just dropped you in the deep end, talking about financial analysis without explaining what anything really is.

par L. S

4 mai 2017

videos can be more interactive with more information on the slides. feel that slides downloaded is not worth the time. I seem to see the professor on screen more then important information we need to take note of. Some modules need to go indepth explanation but does not, especially on

par Grant V

2 mars 2017

This was a good introductory course, with some very informative video and instruction. I only give it 3 stars because I felt it really lacked interactivity. Although quizzes were required throughout, I felt too much of the class was simply sitting back and watching lectures.

par Felix M

5 sept. 2019

To be honest, this course does not really qualify anyone for a job with certain metrics as it only scratches the surface. Further, the combination of jobs related to data such as a data scientist and the presented metrics and tasks do not really correspond in my opinion.

par Kartik S

26 oct. 2020

The course structure was good. However, it was mentioned that no prior knowledge is required but a lot of things related to commerce which a CS graduate doesn't learn which made it hard for me to comprehend a lot of things. Also, my certificate isnt properly printed.

par Monique P

11 août 2016

Pretty good overview for simple business metrics definitions and basic level analysis. It is a good refresher for those with an analytics background, but also puts things in a perspective from a business setting which is good for when you are working in the field.

par CARLOS A A T

2 août 2020

There are many people whose native language is not English, in the course reference it is mentioned that it has subtitles in Spanish, during the course it was only the first video, hopefully they can change it and reach more people with the desire to learn.

par aaron m

23 juil. 2019

Great general overview on data analysis and common metrics used. However, there was a heavy emphasis on financials which becomes pretty technical and not explained clearly, so if you're not focused on financial data analysis I would pick another course.

par Andrew A

15 oct. 2015

In my opinion this course is superficial. I didn't get real knowledge from it. At the same time this course might be just an intro to the series of courses about Business Analytics. So I'm looking forward to try them all!

Anyway, thanks for the course!

par fozan t

15 août 2019

The course is bit short only 3 weeks of material and ,I think the material is also kind of an overview of busines metrics but overall its okay it would be great if there are more lecture material and assignments to practice the material.

par Edward J

29 oct. 2020

This is a LONG course with a lot of videos. It needs more practical work to be truly engaging. That said - Daniel Egger really knows his stuff and I really appreciated the interviews with graduates in different industries. Thank you.