Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction au droit américain

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction au droit américain par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.8
étoiles
3,652 évaluations
858 avis

À propos du cours

This course will give you a glimpse into six different areas of American law: Tort Law, Contract Law, Property, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, and Civil Procedure. You will gain insight into the complexities and dilemmas that arise from the application of law in different settings, and what is distinctive about American approaches....

Meilleurs avis

AA
16 sept. 2018

I enjoyed this course and it helped me to understand the basic parts of American Law. My only suggestion is to provide even more cases as examples to demonstrate the doctrines and statutes. Thank you.

AT
9 avr. 2020

A great first step on understanding the basic principles of American Law, providing an insight into impact on the systems we encounter on a daily basis and how these systems have developed over time.

Filtrer par :

726 - 750 sur 846 Avis pour Introduction au droit américain

par Hamdan M M A

26 janv. 2020

Good

par Elya V

14 juin 2017

Cool

par samik c

16 mai 2017

good

par mitchell w

7 mai 2017

good

par Mohsen L G

21 sept. 2016

good

par MOHD S H S

17 juin 2020

دو

par antonio m e j l

8 déc. 2020

b

par donald l r

11 sept. 2017

G

par Stephen H

8 juil. 2017

G

par Olya K

29 juin 2017

О

par Alex L

6 déc. 2016

I

par Deny K

24 juil. 2016

E

par 范亮亮

23 févr. 2016

t

par Joakim H

5 nov. 2015

A

par Paul J M

31 mars 2016

A very interesting and well presented introduction to US law--even for those, like me, who are neither US citizens nor lawyers. The instructors manage to make some complex ideas simple to understand while not talking down to their students. Assessments were fairly straightforward but did cover the material fairly well.

The biggest weakness, in my view, was the discussion forums. As seems common in most courses on the new Coursera platform, the forums were fairly quiet. However, this was made worse by the apparent attitude of the course mentors who, whether intentionally or merely through their language limitations (neither of the most active mentors were native English speakers or US residents), seemed patronising and dismissive of entirely reasonable questions. Moreover, their input in ever thread served to stifle discussion between students; once they had given the 'correct' response any other input was entirely unwelcome.

I've never come across such apparently hostile 'mentoring' either online or in the traditional academic situations. For this reason alone I rate the course at a 4 rather than 5 star. Maybe later courses will have different mentors or the existing ones will improve their skills. If you can live without friendly and supportive forums then I unreservedly recommend the course.

par Heather B

2 avr. 2021

This course provided an excellent orientation of American law. I'm grateful for its availability. Nevertheless, I have a couple of criticisms. The course, more or less, jumps right into tort law without providing an introduction to define the hierarchy, history, and basic distinctions between common law and statute law, although much of this information is provided throughout each section, though redundantly. Also, the transcripts of each lecture were obviously generated by speech-recognition technology; thus, unremoved misspellings and punctuation errors horribly detract from them. Wouldn't it be a great idea if first-year English or linguistic students received extra credit for proofreading and editing the transcripts?

par Mohammed A G

19 janv. 2018

I found them in every week of the lecture trying to approve 2 points:

1- Why is our laws great

2- why is it different from other laws

which are mainly not the things I care about.

I care about how these laws work in general and maybe some of the interesting cases that happened.

Also I felt like the course wasn't really organized, like if we have a week to understand how that law connects to that law and how that law connects to the general map of laws (made up name)

But I felt that the things we studied wasn't really connecting to each other.

but anyway generally the course did it's job, and ironically I found the sixth week the most not boring one for some reason.

par Türkan Ö

22 nov. 2020

Thanks a lot for this course is a lot of labor to all the teachers I've read the 2-year Associate Justice. It was very exciting and interesting for me to learn about American law. The only downside and disappointment of the course was that all the questions I asked in the discussion section were unanswered. There were no moderators, and my mind on such important matters was left in the air.

And most importantly, I have not been able to get a certificate from this course that I have devoted so much effort and time to, even though I wanted to get financial aid, because the page did not work.

par ZEINA D S

13 juin 2017

Everything was good.

But I have two observations:

1 - Some of the lectures had a translation of the Arabic language and some doesn't contain, I wish I could find a translation in all lectures, which facilitates the process of study.

A. For the certificate:

I hope to send a copy by mail address to the student, because universities usually have a certain paper quality for certificates.

and many student look forward to keeping the certificates in frame as usual.

thanks for your cooperation

par Leung M L M

13 sept. 2016

An introductory course that provides an overview to a few major aspects of American law, including contract, tort, constitution, property law. Important cases are incorporated to help illustrate fundamental legal concepts. I appreciate that the course puts some highlights in the comparison between the laws of American and laws of other common law jurisdictions, so even law students/legal practitioners from other countries could gain some insight.

par Lawrence M

20 nov. 2018

The course does offer basic insights into the history of American law, as promised. It also gives you valuable perspective on American legal history and on the principles that govern our courts - especially the Supreme Court. That said, I don't give it five stars because the more extensive texts and reading were unnecessary to passing it. The tests are honestly too easy, and I'm saying that as someone who has never even touched law school.

par Alex L

12 avr. 2020

The professors were excellent. Their vocabulary suggested to assume some prior knowledges prior to taking this course, but they were extremely concise in their delivery of content and examples, I didn't know anything about what American Law except for a vague understanding of a procedural trial. Now I feel like I have a better grasp as to American Law's philosophy and its preferences on how Law should be operated.

par Любовь К

3 juin 2020

Overall, the course is good. It gives a very superficial idea of the legislative framework in the United States. I would like a more detailed analysis of some sections. Personally, I did not like the module of constitutional law, because the lecturer constantly read the transcript and it seemed that he did not understand what he was saying. And so - normal, but a little weak

par Bridgitte T

5 août 2020

The course content is really engaging and the lectures opened up a new world of American civics for me. However, in this course, you learn more about law from a philosophical standpoint than from an actual "law student's" view. At times the videos were long and some points are made over and over again, but in the end, I have learned a great many things about American law.

par Amit K

23 avr. 2018

A very well thought out selection of lectures and topics to provide an introduction to someone without any prior knowledge of the American legal system. At the same time, these lectures have enough food for thought for the engaged learner and should encourage further exploration of these topics. In my case, it led to several further readings and video watchings.