Chevron Left
Retour à Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms par Université de Stanford

4.8
étoiles
3,993 évaluations
735 avis

À propos du cours

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Meilleurs avis

KS

Sep 14, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT

May 27, 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filtrer par :

676 - 700 sur 720 Avis pour Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

par sherif s

Nov 15, 2019

over all is good

the proofs parts are too much by the way

par Vishnu

Dec 31, 2019

Sometimes it became complicated but it was really good

par Yang W

May 10, 2018

very conceptual, not very friendly to the beginner.

par Utsav S

Jun 04, 2020

excellent ,what i most need was asymptotic analysis

par Anish K

Aug 31, 2017

Very fun, interactive and downright helpful course.

par Yasir M

Jun 09, 2020

Should be more precise in code. It's too vague

par Dragonphy W

Oct 14, 2018

It's good enough but lack of thorough analysis

par Yash K

May 14, 2017

Requires a bit of Math background for proofs!

par Simon R

Feb 14, 2020

Interesting and well explained. Well done.

par Deepika G

Apr 26, 2019

Loved the content and detailed lectures.

par Dipankar m

May 10, 2020

Very nice course with good faculty.

par Artem S

Apr 23, 2017

Sometimes too much mathematics.

par Abhilash R

Sep 19, 2018

MORE OF THEORY LESS OF SOLVING

par Michael L

Dec 19, 2018

This course is excellent...

par Shouvik G

Aug 03, 2018

good.but, he is so fast!

par Tejas P

Jun 14, 2018

well explained sir..!!!

par Mohammed T

Apr 28, 2020

good explanation

par 张之晗(ZhiHan Z

Aug 27, 2017

so challenging

par Nguyen K T

Jun 29, 2019

very hard

par Prachi M

Jun 25, 2017

Excellent

par E.Naveen K

Nov 30, 2016

Great

par Bianca D

Jan 26, 2019

Took me way more than 7 hours/week to go through course materials and complete the problem sets and programming assignments. Closer to 10. In general the estimates for how much time each assignment takes is way off (often claiming on the order of minutes, when the reality is for most students (myself included) it is likely on the order of hours).

That said, the programming assignments were challenging and fun (especially trying to do them in JavaScript), and I feel much more comfortable with recursion and Big-Oh.

The forums for the current session are not very active, but there are a lot of old posts from past offerings of the course, and I found that most of the time others had similar questions to me.

The textbook was helpful, but it pretty much has the same content as the lectures with maybe some extra practice and challenge problems. Unfortunately not all solutions to those problems are available, which can be very frustrating (I noticed at least one practice problem with no solution was used on the final exam, so that’s probably why...).

This course is a little more academic than practical in my opinion as a software engineer, but you have to start somewhere.

par TAI C W

Jan 01, 2020

The idea and the content are excellent in terms of mathematic analysis. I would recommend people who want to do software engineering or computer science to pick up this course. However, I couldn't give stars higher than three because the videos aren't cut well; After week 2, a lot of written explanations in the video don't follow the audio; i.e., The teacher speaks faster than his writing. That is extremely confusing, and I have to go back to the lecture and read the subtitles back and forth a lot of times, to fully absorb the ideas. Otherwise, it's an outstanding lesson, and I recommend students to download the optional textbooks to get a better understanding.

par ALI A H

Jul 02, 2020

for programming assignment please ask two question for each assignment

for example you ask to count no. of comparison in quicksort contain 10000 distinct integer. I urge mr. professor to provide this question as an example with just 20 integer only along with answer. So that we can check our program answer with this example and after then we will solve it with 10000 integer.

Thanks for this informative explanation and i m happy to learn other part also.

Sorry for my bad english.

I dont know wether my feedback is right or wrong

but Its just a humble request from a student to a teacher

par Peter C

Feb 12, 2017

I was glad to get exposure to famous algorithms through this class, but I don't feel like I really developed an intuition for reasoning about their runtime. The class was challenging, but mostly for the wrong reasons. I spent more time and energy pouring over the answers to tricky quizzes and having to implement algorithms exactly as described in the lecture notes rather than really truly learning. It also took me much longer than the 4-8 hours per week advertised to complete each week.