Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Algae

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Algae par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.7
étoiles
240 évaluations
77 avis

À propos du cours

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Meilleurs avis

AZ

Apr 10, 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

TR

Sep 05, 2019

An excellent detail introduction covering the details of algae\n\nevolution, algae bio- chemistries & structures, algae cultivation, harvesting, producer methods, products and applications.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 77 Avis pour Introduction to Algae

par Taras P

Jul 05, 2019

An exceptional introduction I must say. I am an BS Aquaculture from URI and an oyster hatchery manager and was more than satisfied with the curriculum and the expertise of the speakers. I would greatly encourage a follow-up course.

par Amirreza Z

Apr 10, 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

par Ahmet Y M

Oct 13, 2019

I wish there was an option that I could see the captions (the sentences that the speaker spoke) during the presentations like watching TV with the CC is on... Just a suggestion.

par Joshua M N Q

Jan 17, 2020

Through this course, I was able to learn the fundamentals of algae. The lessons and presentations helped me fully understand the importance of algae, not just in the industry but also to the environment. The knowledge I have acquired from this course will have a huge impact to me as a chemical engineering student. Now, I am more interested in landing a future job in bioengineering, utilizing microbes specifically algae for the sustainable production of energy, food, and biomedicine.

par Esteban D A G

Jan 04, 2020

La metodología de aprendizaje en el curso fue didáctica se a bordaron los temas de manera gráfica y teórica lo cual facilito el aprendizaje del contenido expuesto ,se abordaron temáticas importantes en el cultivo de macro y micro-algas como taxonomía, características de los organismos,ecología ,fertilización ,técnicas de cosecha ,extracción de lípidos, usos comerciales de la biomasa , sistemas de producción,entre otros aspectos de gran relevancia.

par Shawn P

Feb 24, 2018

Great introductory course to algae covering a diverse range of topics such as biology (e.g. different species, evolutionary history), cultivation (e.g. pests/predator management systems, overview of raceway ponds and photobioreactors), harvesting (thickening and dewatering process equipment), processing (biofuels, bioplastics) and more. A solid foundation for future learning.

par coco p

Oct 12, 2018

This is a very informative, compact, summary course on algae. After finishing the course, you will have a thought map on algae from biological aspect to chemical engineering aspect. This is a really simple course, just to ease you in on the subject and you can move onto detailed researches on sub-subjects of algae with a greater understanding.

par Kevin W

Sep 08, 2019

really want to meet all you guys, I really, really want to go to UCSD for algae biotech. I love the work of Brian Von Herzmon and professor Mayfield. Your work with the malaria vaccine and alginesis materials inspires me greatly and I want to make myself useful!

Thank you so much for offering these courses.

par Brandon O

Apr 15, 2019

Really in depth but simple to understand. I was not familiar with algae and after this it seems like something that I would like to pursue in a farm setting so Ia appreciate all the basics but again it was really in depth enough that i felt like I got my moneys and most importantly my times worth.

par Savannah P

Dec 30, 2019

I found this course to be informative and interesting! The instructors lessons on algae diversity, ecology and applications were all very captivating. This course strengthened my existing interest in algae technologies and I am grateful that it was made available to the public.

par Abhilash K

Apr 10, 2019

It is the perfect Introductory course on algae ,most of the explanation is given in simple language from one algae pioneers , I would suggest every one this course , who want to know the applications of these beautiful creatures

par Kester L C

Sep 12, 2019

Thought it was a nice accessible course for a beginner to algae, as I was. It covered key topics comprehensively, and touched on more complex issues to give students an idea of how to study further if desired. Recommended!

par Aleksandar M

Oct 30, 2019

Great introductory course for anyone who thinks algae are not interesting. There should be more courses like this, dedicated to groups of organisms that are neglected, yet essential and crucial members of our biosphere.

par Pim v d B

Nov 02, 2018

This coarse gives plenty of insights in different algae spiecies and how they are used. Some material is repeated multiple times which makes it more easy to remember. The lectures are all from the field of algae!

par Ian F

Jan 20, 2020

This is an excellent introductory course to Phycology and Algal Bio-Manufacturing. Highly recommended to anyone pursuing the fields of marine biology, botany, ecology, bio-manufacturing, or cellular biology.

par Julien

Mar 25, 2019

Clear (even for a French guy!), very interesting and many informations about the potential of algaes in the futur (bio products, alimentation, car fuel…) A revelation !

Thank you to all the team :)

par Suzana T d C L

Jul 22, 2019

Excellent Course! Covers many different aspects of algae biology and blue biotech. Very happy to get classes from such amazing Professionals of UCSD and others! Thanks for the opportunity!

par Tony R

Sep 05, 2019

An excellent detail introduction covering the details of algae

evolution, algae bio- chemistries & structures, algae cultivation, harvesting, producer methods, products and applications.

par JOHN Q

Feb 16, 2018

Fantastic Course! I was so pleased to participate in a course on Algae and to learn it's reality and potential in our culture and world. Thanks to all who put this course on.

par luke R

Oct 15, 2018

Amazing topic that I am humbled to be able to learn about. I hope I can take the more advanced classes that go further in dept into this fascinating and timely topic.

par Herath M H H D

Jul 05, 2018

This course gives you all the basic understanding of the algae world and opens up your mind to the endless industry and research opportunities that algae hold.

par Hiran A H R

May 15, 2019

This was a very insightfull course that allows me to learn and have a better comprenhension about basic aspects of microalgae biotechnology that I did'nt knew

par Javiera A

Jul 01, 2019

Excellent course, it helped me to review the knowledge about algae and to learn new things. The teachers are very good! I really recomend this course.

par Francisco G

Jul 10, 2018

Excelente curso. Muy útil la información. Aunque si fuera posible me gustaría hubieran hablado un poco mas del manejo de las microalgas.