Chevron Left
Retour à After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure par Université de Copenhague

4.7
243 notes
59 avis

À propos du cours

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

Meilleurs avis

LK

Oct 13, 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

BE

Sep 04, 2017

That is the second class I am taking with Professor Afsah and would love to take more. The class is interesting, engaging and relevant. Highly recommended!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 59 Examens pour After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

par gigi n

Jun 20, 2019

Nice format to measure one's understanding of each subject matter. The course is thoughtfully intersectional; and its comprehensive in making good use of western political theories and concepts and how these idea have failed to develop or take root in Arab political history.

par Boris E

Sep 04, 2017

That is the second class I am taking with Professor Afsah and would love to take more. The class is interesting, engaging and relevant. Highly recommended!

par Leon K

Oct 13, 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

par Beatriz m D

Dec 13, 2018

Ha sido un gran curso.

par Mohammed A A

Nov 19, 2018

thank you very very match

par Noor

Dec 24, 2018

Very informative and eye opting for an Arab trying to understand why we r behind other countries and to realize how to go about it

par Sujata A

Feb 27, 2019

Lucid and informative.

par Mahmoud E

Apr 15, 2019

very good

par S M H s

Jan 06, 2019

Arab world systematically failed to produce the society which can yearn for the true democratic aspirations. The So-called "Arab Spring was absolutely clueless and leaderless. The leaders of Arab nations tried to mitigate the effect of uprisings by just giving them temporary comfort rather than installing democratic and sustainable economic system. Above all the "Political Islam" added insult to the injury which is most often misinterpreted in terms of bringing prosperity and justice in society. Consequently , producing vacuum for the group like "ISIS". Similarly, the purchased achievements in academia miserably led to rely on the family system nepotism. To sum up, It can be observed that pessimism seems to prevail in coming future for the democratic system in the future.

par Katharina W

Feb 26, 2019

I gained enormous ins

par Jason B

Sep 11, 2018

Thank you Dr. Ebrahim Afsah for doing the research and disseminating all the information in a very presentable, and easy to understand fashion. I now have a much deeper understanding of the Arab Spring and the events that lead to the inevitable revolt. Great Course!

par C.Winkel

Sep 29, 2018

Very interesting and enlightening course. The instructor is excellent and very well informed and engaging.

par Ingmar S

Nov 11, 2018

pacing of this course was manageable with the tests coming after each video.

par Ahmer J K

Nov 19, 2017

Excellent, though provoking course!

par Joanna S

Aug 21, 2017

Very interesting and follows on nicely from Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World.

par Elizabeth B

Sep 20, 2017

Excellent and very informative course, makes you think critically about the situation in the Middle East.

par Scott L

Dec 05, 2017

Tremendous review of history across the Middle East from the view of how the Arab Spring and years around that were unable to deliver on the potential that had. By doing a full review of how the countries of the Arab world got to where they are, a more comprehensive understanding of why that region of the world cannot simply move through revolution is obtained. Outstanding class done with attention to detail yet staying independent and respectful of all the parties involved.

par JOHN Q

Sep 20, 2017

fun and interesting course.

par Richard M

Aug 07, 2017

Another excellent and insightful course, very well delivered by Dr Afsah.

par Gayatri V

Feb 22, 2018

Thank you very much for this course. I was always curious about the middle east and had a lot of pre-conceived notions. This course helped satiate my curiosity and correct a few assumptions I had. I like the way the course is structured. It is easy to understand and apply in real life. I liked the practical aspects of this course as well. Thanks, again, for teaching me, sir.

par Nada H E

Sep 22, 2017

It was a very challenging yet interesting course, i never thought it would be that much intense with full range of readings and different perceptions were argued, and looking at the situation in the Middle East differently and not neglecting any views Western and Eastern.

I highly recommend anyone to join this course, especially with the list of the books that were used in the course.

par Bernadette L

Jan 27, 2018

Outstanding lesson with profound knowledge of the lecturer.

par Afaque R A

Feb 24, 2018

An absolute masterpiece. Too many lessons, learnings and reasons for dysfunctional muslim and Arab societies mentioned and nicely explained in this course are directly applicable to the Pakistani case as well.

par CHRISTINE M

Sep 28, 2017

Very interested this course. Thank you.

par Ilaria C

Dec 20, 2017

I've liked this course because it has been displayed in a very scientific way. Thanks!