Chevron Left
Retour à Advanced R Programming

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Advanced R Programming par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.3
étoiles
449 évaluations
111 avis

À propos du cours

This course covers advanced topics in R programming that are necessary for developing powerful, robust, and reusable data science tools. Topics covered include functional programming in R, robust error handling, object oriented programming, profiling and benchmarking, debugging, and proper design of functions. Upon completing this course you will be able to identify and abstract common data analysis tasks and to encapsulate them in user-facing functions. Because every data science environment encounters unique data challenges, there is always a need to develop custom software specific to your organization’s mission. You will also be able to define new data types in R and to develop a universe of functionality specific to those data types to enable cleaner execution of data science tasks and stronger reusability within a team....

Meilleurs avis

MS

Feb 12, 2020

Brilliant course. Loved Week 4 for OOP. This was really new for me and would love to have been able to see its application in real world examples to better cement the concepts.

FZ

Jun 07, 2017

Very useful, I considered myself quite an advanced R user, but this class raised the level, especially with the R as OOB part. Good investment if you are not a beginner.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 107 Avis pour Advanced R Programming

par Francisco A M

Feb 22, 2018

Excelente!

par ®γσ, E L H

Nov 09, 2018

Cheerful

par Beyhan G

Feb 01, 2017

perfect

par Ganapathi N K

May 20, 2018

Nice

par Hayden M

Oct 04, 2018

Much of this course is well-constructed, well-communicated and clear. Sections from weeks 1-3 were attuned to my programming skill level and the material was communicated generally so that those with experience in other languages could also follow along easily. I had no technical problems with submitting assignments or quizzes and I found the assignments with swirl to be effective in reinforcing the material from the readings. My biggest criticism of this course is about Week 4's content and its respective part in the final assignment. The content in Week 4 concerns Object-Oriented programming and this material was really hard to absorb. It seemed to come out of left field and the readings did not feel as clear as they were in other sections. The readings essentially say "Here is what object-oriented programming allows you to do [create/manipulate classes and objects]" but then goes back on itself by recommending that you do not use object-oriented programming to create custom classes or data structures because the R community already knows what data structures they like. Personally, I had a lot of trouble understanding this content because it was so briefly explained. This did not help me by the time I had to complete the object-oriented programming portion of the final assignment. It is very clear from the class forums that other students have found that section of the assignment particularly difficult for years. Overall, this course was excellent in teaching functional programming principles and application, but the object-oriented section slightly spoiled my experience of the course.

par adam c

Dec 17, 2019

It took me about a year to complete this course, but i had to stop to work on my honors thesis. This course was a good refresher to the nature of programming for me, as i hadn't done much for about five years (C programming). It has given me the confidence and tools to think about developing software for use in my future career (bioinformatics).

par Matthew E

Aug 07, 2019

The lessons in this course were fantastic. The one thing that bothered me was the peer review system for assignments. You end up having to wait weeks just to finish the course, even after you're done everything. Other classes use automatic or paid manual graders, which give instant feedback. I think a similar system could work here.

par Christopher M T

May 14, 2019

The class does not cover all material needed for the final assignment in depth enough. I had to do extensive research outside of the class materials to be able to complete the assignment. I learned a lot, but I shouldn't have to do too much outside work to complete assignments for a class I paid for.

par Sandesh

Sep 12, 2017

I think the course introduced some useful packages like purrr and concepts like map/reduce, but I think the explanation into the different OO systems could be improved. I struggled a lot with the final assignment and really depended on external sources of information to complete it.

par Zdenek K

Nov 15, 2016

Great acceleration of the specialization compared to the first course. It covers modern approaches (as map-reduce-filter implementation in purrr), nicely explains debugging, benchmarking, OOP etc. I would recommend this as a kick starter for more advanced R programming.

par Ankai X

Dec 13, 2018

I find that some of the course materials are not sufficient for the learners to understand the concept in R programming and complete the assignment. The course could be improved by including more examples and hands-on exercises.

par Tarso C R

Jun 01, 2017

I think, as the last week, the first 3 weeks should have something more complicated to do. The

complexity level of the exercises grows exponentially on the last week of the course.

par Ugochi J

Jun 15, 2017

Great course! I gained a more in depth understanding of R and it's underlying structure. I did think there could more explanation given to object oriented programming R.

par Sheila B

Jul 18, 2018

Excellent subject matter. 4 stars instead of 5 is only because there was no video. I love the videos in the other courses in this track, since I am an auditory learner.

par shan y

Feb 16, 2017

the last peer review problem is much too hard for what I learned from the course material, if there is a more specific instruction for the assignment will be better.

par Robert J H

Jul 19, 2017

The last problem is unnecessarily difficult with little related teaching and learning material provided. Otherwise, the course is certainly well worth taking.

par Jinwook C

Jul 14, 2017

It's really good practice for using R as a functional language, but

no video lectures makes student feel bored

par Jorge L R Z

Mar 18, 2018

Good course but the part of OOP is a little too simple, some extra in class exercises could improve this.

par Aditya G

Dec 15, 2016

Good Course! But focus should be more on OOPs Concepts through video lectures to better understand it.

par Jonatan H S

Jun 20, 2019

The last homework is ambiguous, and it doesn't have enough information available to solve it

par sokal1456

Nov 19, 2018

I wish the assignments could be a mix of teacher and peer graded.

par Guillermo C H

May 27, 2019

need more information about how to complete de week one

par Carlos F P

Nov 27, 2017

It is good way to get to improve your R knowledge.

par HIMANSHU R V

Oct 30, 2017

Need to have more visual approach to the course.

par Abhishek Y

Jul 07, 2017

The swirl course is very helpful.