Chevron Left
Retour à Accounting Analysis I: The Role of Accounting as an Information System

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Accounting Analysis I: The Role of Accounting as an Information System par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.8
étoiles
594 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course is the first course in a five-course Financial Reporting Specialization that covers the collection, processing, and communication of accounting information (via financial reports) about economic entities to interested parties (i.e., managers and external stakeholders such as stockholders and creditors). To gain the most relevant knowledge from these courses, learners should have taken a basic accounting course prior to this Specialization (which can be done through Coursera courses, such as any accounting course from the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/accounting-fundamentals). This Specialization focuses on accounting concepts, principles and theory with an emphasis on problems that arise in applying these concepts for external reporting purposes. Specific emphasis is placed on measurement of assets, liabilities, equities and income, as well as disclosure of additional information that may assist users understand the financial reports. After a brief introduction to the course, we will spend time understanding the overall financial accounting structure and standards as well as review the fundamental accounting process used to prepare the financial statements, which will establish a framework for the study of the concepts in the remaining courses in the Financial Reporting Specialization. In this course, we will begin our review of key information included in the Balance Sheet and Income Statement and their related financial disclosures. The Statement of Cash Flows will be introduced briefly with more discussion to follow in later courses of the Specialization. Also, we will provide a cursory review of key concepts involving time value of money as we will finish this course with focus on revenue recognition, including discussion of the new revenue standard. We will review the general approach for recognizing revenue, special issues affecting revenue recognition including long-term construction contracts. In addition, we will discuss and review common ratios used in profitability analysis. The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, consistently ranked as one of the nation's top three accounting programs, now offers a master’s in accounting at a very affordable tuition rate and is completely online. The iMSA is a full Master of Accountancy program and students graduate with an MS that is highly recognized. Try an open course or two, then apply for admission into the credit-bearing version as you may be eligible to take credit-bearing courses during the application process. If you are missing any prerequisites for the full degree, you can complete Coursera courses to demonstrate readiness and strengthen your application for the iMSA. For more information on this exciting iMSA online program, refer to this link: https://www.coursera.org/degrees/imsa...

Meilleurs avis

SL

25 sept. 2022

I got the special factor from this course.Because I learnt the international report and reviewed all of the international students report.It is a big experience to grow up with my professional career.

IP

5 sept. 2022

All topics covered in this course were explained well and shown how to implement, highly recommended for beginners and individuals who would like to brush up on their accounting knowledge foundations

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 129 Avis pour Accounting Analysis I: The Role of Accounting as an Information System

par Mei M

2 juil. 2021

Very insightful

par Anupom S

28 févr. 2021

awesome

par Atul K P

9 mai 2020

good

par Mae A O

30 juil. 2021

The learning experience was great. It was such a refresher course for me but I still learned a lot from Prof. Davis. I appreaciate the modules and how the whole course run through. It was very easy to understand even though it was full packed of lessons. Prof. Davis also gave clear explanation to everything specially to all the computations we need to do in accounting. Truly, it was such an amazing learning experience.

par Amrita S

16 oct. 2020

The course is really fruitful. It provided me the information of financial system in the USA. Various topics such as, GAAP, revenue recognition, ration analysis, etc. helped me to refresh my mind and review with the subject I have learned before during my college days. The presentation style and lecture of the lecturer was simple and easy to understand.

par Haoqian W

19 avr. 2021

What a nice course! As an U of I alum, I took this course to reconsolidate my foundation in accounting before going studying for a MSc Accy degree. Prof. Greg's teaching not only did a great job at that, but also makes me likes accounting even more! Thank you for this wonderful course

par Muhammad A U B

12 juil. 2020

As a 'potential' professional accountant, I think I require these type of courses as many as possible. It was a great learning experience throughout this course. Thank you, the team behind this Course, my learning partners and Coursera!

par Hemakshi D K

23 juin 2021

I really enjoyed learning this course. The instrcutor Gregory Davis patiently explained basic accounting concepts in very systematized way.

Thanks Gregory Sir, Coursera team and University of Illinios for developing this course.

par Md. A U B

12 juil. 2020

As a 'veteran' accounting and finance professional, I believe I require these types of courses as much as possible. It was a nice learning experience throughout this course. Thank you, the team behind this Course and Coursera!

par Shoon L

26 sept. 2022

I got the special factor from this course.Because I learnt the international report and reviewed all of the international students report.It is a big experience to grow up with my professional career.

par ISHA P

6 sept. 2022

All topics covered in this course were explained well and shown how to implement, highly recommended for beginners and individuals who would like to brush up on their accounting knowledge foundations

par Nguyen N T

9 févr. 2022

The course is great. Diverse and in-depth lesson materials on accounting analysis knowledge. I am grateful for the opportunity to take this course.

par Muhammad A H

26 nov. 2021

An amazing course for getting Ideas about Current and non current assets as well as liabilities. Thank you Sir Gregory L. Davis.

par Kathryn S

28 févr. 2022

Topics in this course were immediately relevent and helpful in my everyday work. Looking forwardto Accounting Analysis II.

par SAUMYA S

12 nov. 2020

Some questions were direct but some questions were hard and required more in depth hold in terms of understanding.

par ABDUR R

6 mars 2022

Comprehensive coverage of all the listed topics with real world scenarios and a hands on approach.

par Hossam k

17 févr. 2022

it was helpful course ,benifit me and help me to review my knowledge and refresh my experiences

par AMRIL B

20 janv. 2021

The course was very well taught and very explanatory. Mr. Davis is a very good lecturer.

par Walid G A A

16 sept. 2022

تنرجو تدعيم الاسبوع السابع الخاص العقود طويلة الأجل لم نحصل على التعليم الواسع فيه

par Ismail M H M B

11 mars 2022

now i got up to date information about how financially reporting the business

par Judith A

10 sept. 2020

The course was a challenge; however, I was very pleased with the results.

par Morteza R

17 avr. 2022

this course is very usefull to get a basic understanding of accounting

par Nguyễn V T

10 sept. 2022

I was really impressed with the course. Good luck teachers.

par Tekla T

4 déc. 2021

The best course I have ever had. Gave me a lot of knowledge

par Balaji M

9 avr. 2021

Very informative and clearly explained the Accounting terms