Chevron Left
Retour à Visions du monde et éducation autochtones

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Visions du monde et éducation autochtones par Université de Toronto

4.7
étoiles
340 évaluations
172 avis

À propos du cours

Intended for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal learners, this course will explore indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices, including but not limited to the field of education....

Meilleurs avis

CB

14 sept. 2021

This course was amazing, I first took Indigenous Canada and this was my 2nd course. I felt I had to learn all I can on these important and current issues - a better understanding is what we all need.

CB

25 mars 2021

I really enjoyed this course and I learned a lot. Thank you so much for the time and energy you put into creating it and providing it in this way so people from all over can enhance their learning.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 177 Avis pour Visions du monde et éducation autochtones

par Dennis S

9 juin 2021

This course is very informative.

par Zachary U

7 avr. 2017

Great content! Learned a lot.

par Liz L

11 nov. 2021

Insightful - great course!

par Seema T

10 oct. 2020

Excellent and informative

par Taylor J P

1 juin 2022

​Amazing course !!!!!!!

par Winston A W

19 déc. 2020

Excellent, thank you.

par Jessica W

16 juil. 2020

Really informative!

par Monika N

20 sept. 2020

simply brilliant

par Karen L

5 juin 2022

awesome course

par Christine W

15 déc. 2020

great content

par Marcela A d M M

4 juil. 2021

Excellent!

par Gabriel A P

14 sept. 2017

Excellent!

par Bobby Q

11 juin 2022

par Cheryl D

2 déc. 2020

I found the course very informative - especially the interviews and links to extra resources such as the 8th Fire videos - and I will definitely be doing more reading as there is so much to learn in this area. The importance of understanding that different peoples have different worldviews is vital to being able to work together and learn from one another.

An updated course would be nice as it was first offered in 2013, and there have been a lot of things going on since then.

My only critical comment is that I found it hard to find the additional resources that were mentioned - they don't seem to be linked to the lectures. And I discovered that Week 5 and Week 6 are actually where a lot of these things are located. If the course is updated, perhaps an update to where these resources can be found could be included.

par Martin O

7 déc. 2020

This course could perhaps use a refresh, of its links especially, but also to give comparative historical stats on access to aboriginal education access and graduation, and to include current advances in aboriginal colleges, curriculum and teacher training. This course, at over eight years old, is actually a history. It presents events and our past state of worldview discord, how far we've come since, and how slowly we have moved. As Canada's rehabilitation drags on, the course becomes a sad commentary.

par Irene Y

13 févr. 2022

The course was very interesting and helped me understand a lot more about the challenges of the residential schools and how limiting the Inidan Act is to indigenous peoples.

I did not realize that the week 6 materials were related to the earlier weeks of the course. I watched them after completing all of the work. It would have been good to see the screenside chats right after each week. Adding a link to to the chat after the weekly videos would have been helpful.

par Kyle T

7 janv. 2019

Some missing or broken links made accessing some of the material more difficult. While a quick google search was usually sufficient to find what was missing there was one exception, where a free copy of the chapter reading was not readily accessible.

The information in the course was quite interesting and I enjoyed the interviews/special guests. I hope you keep up the great work making this kind if education accessible for more Canadians.

par asith. c

26 juil. 2021

Very insightful. It is an eye opener to learn about indigenous world views. There is lot to learn and integrate about the learning approaches (Education) by indigenous people of early and pre-contact. To name a few would be to learn from nature and to care for it, personal connection between the teacher (elder, parent..) and learner, to look within for the answers, to learn through experiences, non-interference (to an extent) and so on

par Steven F

23 avr. 2019

An excellent approach to aboriginal worlviews that provided context and importantly the imapact of intergenerational damage done by the educational policies to aboriginals and the current state of affairs. Thoroughly enjoyed the first assignment and the requirement for peer assessment. Created accountablility in the course and engagement opportunities. Well done.

par Topalian

11 sept. 2021

The course was very informative. The instructor very knowledgeable on the subjects covered. I had trouble accessing some of supplemental materials as I was unsure where to find certain articles and websites. Regardless of this, I will recommend the course to any teachers ready to acquire the knowledge needed to assert their vision. Thank you

par Courtney M

11 févr. 2019

Really great introductory course for individuals who are largely unfamiliar with Indigenous Worldview in Canada. For those who have some prior knowledge, it may be too basic but it's always helpful and important to review previous knowledge, so it's a good course for everyone!

par Brenna C

15 avr. 2020

Some of the video's he told us to watch after the intro videos did not appear after the intro video ended. I would rework the order of the video's so that people can watch the video's he talks about right after he introduces them. Otherwise, very informative course!

par Sheena P

5 mai 2021

This course provided a solid overview of Indigenous Worldviews and how they are related to education. It is a very good introductory course. There are a lot of videos to watch, but little in terms of actual coursework/submissions so it is still manageable.

par Nikki B

23 juil. 2020

Really good course, a lot of great content. Instead of multiple videos, a summary worksheet would be beneficial as well as check-ins to see that you are understanding all the material. Overall, I enjoyed and have recommended to colleagues and friends.

par Jon D

8 mars 2022

Excellent content. Definitely coming out of the learnings better informed. Access to video resources during the course was challenging at times with dead links. Independant internet searches were needed as a work around to locate video resources.