Chevron Left
Retour à Visions du monde et éducation autochtones

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Visions du monde et éducation autochtones par Université de Toronto

4.7
étoiles
355 évaluations

À propos du cours

Intended for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal learners, this course will explore indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices, including but not limited to the field of education....

Meilleurs avis

CB

14 sept. 2021

This course was amazing, I first took Indigenous Canada and this was my 2nd course. I felt I had to learn all I can on these important and current issues - a better understanding is what we all need.

CB

25 mars 2021

I really enjoyed this course and I learned a lot. Thank you so much for the time and energy you put into creating it and providing it in this way so people from all over can enhance their learning.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 186 Avis pour Visions du monde et éducation autochtones

par Ashley M

25 avr. 2021

What an incredible journey of learning and unlearning this course has been for me. The course reinvigorated me to continue my spiritual growth, turning to my ancestors through my Ayurvedic and meditation journey—decolonizing my own caste privilege, but continuing to adopting the decolonial history of my community's church (https://youtu.be/q-v1gHZnPeI). I need to continue to do the spiritual work within myself and in my own community to decolonize the effects of colonial impact on India and as an uninvited settler here on Turtle Island. Thank you for the gems of your elders and community leaders that will live in my heart. Finding my way back home.

par Sarah M

19 févr. 2018

This course was well worth the enrollment fee. High quality material shared by an excellent professor. Made me more knowledgeable about aboriginal issues in Canada, helped me see from an aboriginal perspective, and really highlighted what a poor job our educational system in Canada does at including aboriginal content in the curriculum and how inaccurately it portrays aboriginal and colonial history. More people should take this course - it's enlightening, stereotype-destroying, and makes you think very critically about the subject matter.

par Eric L

1 juin 2022

This course is curt but compact with knowledge that I think is necessary for both educators seeking to enter the profession as well as the general population. As treaty people, and as settlers, it is important to come to terms with the context with which we live, and in which we have been educated, and how those have been imposed and even weaponied onto the land's original inhabitants. I can wholeheartedly say that this helped me grow, bring forth new information that I will return to (and have bookmarked) and am thankful for. Thank you!

par Keith B

5 juin 2022

This class led by Jean-Paul Restoule isn't just for indigenous peoples rather it is for all people of what is commonly called North America. I am a teacher and will use the points of view in this course to broaden class discussions about land, environment, cultures, and people. It is easy to access, even in Shanghai where I am presently working as a history teacher at an international school. The information is relevant and thought-provoking. I hope they add a follow-up course to their offerings.

par Lisa-Marie S

2 oct. 2020

Really enjoyed the class and found all the extra course material very beneficial! I have recently been hired as the Elder Support Worker for Homalco First Nations in Campbell River, BC on Vancouver Island and am so grateful for the content I learned because it has really helped me to find common ground with the Elders and enabled me to be more comfortable asking culturally sensitive questions. I hope that you continue to develop more great courses such as this!

Respectfully,

Lisa-Marie Szonyi

par Maya G

3 mai 2020

I am taking the course from Israel. I am very interested learining from Indiginouse cultures and it was a great explanantion to understand where things stands. I am planing to pursude my career on enviromental education and indegounes cultures. As Iam already working from an ecovillage and permaculture education. This course made me decide that this is the path I want to follow. Thank you so much for this course to coursera, University of Toronto and Jean Paul.

par Diane M

12 mai 2022

For me this has been a step in learning about my Country's history form the Indigeous perspective. It has opened my eyes to understanding some of the challenges that we face as a country today. I found this material well laid out with additional resources that you could pursue. I highly recommend this course to all Canadian adults. You can go at your own pace and either pursue a certification or take it for free for your own personal growth in knowledge.

par Kelly O

27 juin 2021

a really fascinating look at some of the issues surrounding Aboriginal peoples of Canada. I do think that since the material is now 9 years old and so much has happened since 2013 cleaning up the links and providing updates to the material presented here is in order. Additionally, links to the materials referenced such as the Indian Act or the treaties could be added. Students can search info on their own but why not include them in the course?

par Eric D

3 août 2021

T​his course was a wonderful introduction for someone who knows enough to know he knows too little. I work in event planning for my public library, and I consider my role to be a far more freeform version of the Western education system. I wanted to learn more in an effort to be inclusive in manner, and also for a fresh persepective on my work. I look forward to intergrating some ideas into my approach!

par Nicole W

22 sept. 2021

Every educator, counsellor, doctor, nurse, and public servant in Canada needs to take this course. It is, without a doubt, the most informative and useful course on Indigenous Peoples in Canada that I have ever taken. I will definitely recommend this to every teacher and teacher's assistant I know, and urge anyone else interested in Indigenous history and current events to take this course. I loved it.

par Sharon C

20 sept. 2020

Thank you very much for allowing me to be part of this course. I am grateful for the lessons learned. I am happy to see the movement gaining momentum and the youth especially saying "I matter and I am standing up to make a difference" Thank you Jean-Paul and the assistants. Thank you to my colleague who recommended the course. I know that I am a lot wiser because of it.

par Laura F

13 nov. 2021

I learned so much from this course about Aboriginal Peoples of Canada and the genocide that has taken place over the century and because of the laws to eliminate the aboriginal peoples the systemic issues still exist today. I work with 60% population of aboriginal youth and I have learned of the changes, as an organization and as a person , that need to be made.

thank you

par Mary A V

2 févr. 2021

This is my third online course and second one on Indigenous education and culture. I have learned many new facts, more about history and have built within a desire to learn more. Enjoyed the assignments, the forums and the quizzes are important to keep me accountable for my own learning. I appreciate all the work that was put into the creation of this course. Thank you

par Jane H

2 août 2022

This was an excellent course. I found the ability to navigate the content/material in a self-directed way well laid out and allowed the appropriate time for reflection. Thank you for the experience, I learned so much that will help me on my journey to decolonize myself and to become a friend and trusted partner to Indigenous Peoples, my future students in education.

par karin d

5 août 2021

Exceptional curriculum and interviews/videos from aboriginal academics, writers, activists, etc. Associate Professor Jean-Paul Restoule has an easygoing and holistic style which often belies the profundity of his message. He demystified and elevated indigenous history and culture in a way that leaves me grateful as well as weak from the weight of the knowledge.

par Neus C C

13 mai 2017

I found this course both enjoyable and thoughtful. The lectures focus on a variety of social topics to help learners get a general idea, but to me the exercises were most enlightening to really understand other foundations and ways of education.

Also, I usually do not engage in forums very much, but other people in my session raised very engaging questions :)

par Mohamed S H

20 févr. 2022

T​his course was well designed for the working professional desiring to learn about Aboriginal worldviews and their relationship to education. I appreciate the wealth of knowledge that Dr. Jean-Paul Restoule shared. I enjoyed the guest speakers and the perspectives they shared. I particularly enjoyed Week 4 videos. Thanks for making this possible!

par Mary S

16 avr. 2020

Thank you for putting together a thought provoking and informative class about the Aboriginal Worldviews and Education. Though I am not in the educational field, I found the topics interesting and compelling. I learned a lot about a topic that I am unfamiliar with that and will be looking for more content to learn more about aboriginal cultures.

par Krista D

25 nov. 2021

I r​eally enjoyed the Professor's attempt at an informal style, a difficult task for an online course. I loved the medicine wheel centred learning and found myself layering many of the teachings on top of one another in independent understanding. I am so grateful for the opportunity to have access to courses on Indigenous learning from home.

par Tina L J

1 janv. 2022

Really enjoyed this course. Very informative, with lots of resources to draw from. Definitely need to carve out time for this one as you need to access some of the teachings on a laptop online not just with the phone app. Something to get used to.

Thank you for offering this course, I have learned a lot and was definitely eye opening.

par Stephanie R

23 janv. 2022

I'm really grateful for this course. Miigwech, thank you, to Jean-Paul Restoule and the T.A.s and guests who put this learning opportunity together. There are loads of external resources offered and the course is really well organized with an exceptional amount of information and supporting materials. I will highly recommend it.

par Cassidy T

28 avr. 2022

Knowlegeable and concise course. Jean-Paul Restoule offers a comtemporary look at how Ingigenous worldviews and education exsisted pre-contact, how they were effected by contact and colonization, and most importantly how they have survived and are of utmost importance to all of us as we face the challenges of of modern world.

par Mikolaj R

27 déc. 2021

Fantastic course! I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to explore how ethnicity affects the way we express our views and form opinions and how to better communicate having in mind that context. Completing the course also helped me to further understand where I stand in relation to my own ethnical Silesian haritage.

par Alison T

9 août 2021

This is a wonderful course aimed at anyone but would especially recommend for those in Education. You also don't need to be in education. I'm learning more and more about my Anishinaabe heritage through taking courses. I'm grateful for this course igniting the flame within me and I will work to nurture it. Miigwech

par Maisnam A

6 août 2020

Being an Indigenous person myself from India, Asia, I always face this academic void to pursue courses where I can learn about Indigenous culture and issues all around the world. This course is my Beginning and I will definitely draw upon it in my further journey of exploration.I

Istrongly recommend this course.