Chevron Left
Retour à 3D Printing Software

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour 3D Printing Software par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.6
221 notes
59 avis

À propos du cours

This course will demonstrate how to use 3D printing software to create digital designs that can be turned into physical objects. It will also demonstrate how 3D scanners work to turn physical objects into digital designs. This course is hands-on in nature and will provide step-by-step instructions to guide you through two popular 3D modeling programs, Tinkercad and Fusion 360. Learners who complete this course will be able to use 3D software to design a wide variety of objects for both personal and professional use. In addition, learners who enroll in the course certificate will receive extended free access to Fusion 360 (provided by Autodesk). Please copy/paste the following links to your browser's search bar to view the requirements for each of the following software elements used in this course: Sketchbook: https://support.sketchbook.com/hc/en-us/articles/209671938-SketchBook-Desktop-System-Requirements Tinkercad: https://support.tinkercad.com/hc/en-us/articles/205849108-What-are-Tinkercad-s-Browser-and-Platform-requirements- Autodesk Fusion 360: https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/fusion-360/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/System-requirements-for-Autodesk-Fusion-360.html Sketchfab: https://help.sketchfab.com/hc/en-us/articles/203059088-Compatibility 123D Catch: Same as Tinkercad...

Meilleurs avis

DS

Mar 23, 2018

This is the best course I have made on this year. This course give to you a chance to create objects from reality or just using your imagination. Enjoy this course, guys. Thank you for all.

PK

Mar 31, 2017

Excellent course , i finally learned how to use Fusion 360 and make something that can be 3D printed , i also learned about 3D scanning techniques .\n\nenjoy this course , best of luck :)

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 58 Examens pour 3D Printing Software

par J. C C

May 27, 2018

Is this an educational course or an advertisement for Autodesk? You will only experience and be told of Autodesk products: Sketchbook, Tinkercad, and Fusion 360. No other design programs are mentioned much less compared and contrasted. No mention of Illustrator (vs Sketchbook), OpenSCAD (vs Tinkercad) or Solidworks (vs Fusion 360). Set up in this manner, it shouldn't require a $79 Coursera fee given that this is setup to capture new students into Autodesk's product line. Meshmixer is an Autodesk product and oddly isn't even mentioned, despite being widely used in the 3D printing community.

The course is overly focused on free-flowing design. Despite being a 3D-design class made to be embedded in the 3D printing industry, you never have a video or assignment that has you make a part or item to specified measurements. This is a real gap in the teachings; I would argue to have replaced Week 4 on sculpting with a module on adding dimensions and locking relationships and measurements (lengths, angles) between parts and components.

The class instructor, Jeff Smith, has never responded to a forum post or question in the history of the class. The fifth week of class is taught by a student rather than industry expert and he is not given teaching credit. The sixth week is empty and is used to pad the course up to the 6-week, $79 fee scale.

Two weeks of focus on Fusion 360 is insufficient given the amount of content the instructor is teaching in the videos. For new modelers, a week on sculpting feels like too much; it's nice to make pretty shapes (starships/bicycle seats), but what about shapes needing defined precision? It would be great to learn to build two gears from scratch that turn with one another. If instructor disagrees with this philosophy, at the least it would be great to use sculpt tools to make a specific item with the sculpt having some sort of goal. Making free shapes is easier but less useful after taking this class. All or nearly all of the sculpted shapes you will make would be very, very difficult to print.

Time is wasted on learning rendering - after all, this class is focused on 3D printing, not sales or marketing (the reasons the instuctor gave for using rendering).

Additional issues are below:

Course is unorganized and outdated.

- Example 1: even though this is a recent class, the Autodesk product videos are outdated. The software used by the instructor is a different version with commands in different locations. This increases the difficulty in learning. For instance, in the Create menu, primatives have swapped places with basic functions.

-Example 2: 123D Catch is no longer a product that we can use - why is there still a video teaching this in the syllabus? Why hasn't this teaching been updated? This product was taken off market a year and a half ago and still the syllabus is outdated. In the text, they state for you to download software which is not free and requires purchase (Trnio for iOS).

- Example 3: in Week 3's videos, Smith demonstrates the bottom component being grounded, but not the top component. In the homework, we are instructed to take off points if the top component isn't grounded as well - all the other students I graded got this wrong (as did I).

- Example 4: in Week 3's assignment, it says it is worth 14% of the grade. However, the syllabus says it's worth 30% of the grade.

- Example 5: T-splines are discussed heavily in Week 4 but are never defined or explained. There is a glossary entry with a link to explain T-splines; the link has been invalid since January 2017. Even splines are not defined or explained, much less T-splines.

- Example 6: Material is presented out of order. For instance, the move triad is described in Week 4 but really needs to be introduced in Week 3 when you start using Fusion 360 for the first time.

- Example 7: Lack of organization adds to existing issues of current grading system. For example, the instructions for Week's assignment says, "For this first objective, you need to build a design that uses all 6 of the primitive tools, 5 times each (box, cylinder, torus, sphere, pipe)". We are instructed to use six different tools from a list of five tools. Some students grade for five, some for six, because of the inconsistency in our instructions.

- Example 8: Every submission for Week 4 I graded was flawed; the instructor has not taught students about resolving impossible geometries. All the submissions I graded were still stuck in Sculpt mode. When exiting Sculpt, Fusion 360 would identify impossible geometries, remove them, and leave the remaining items intact that do not violate topology. This means that no assignment I graded had the minimum number of shapes - if students thought they needed 12 shapes to grade, they would make 12, but 2-4 would be impossible. Since no student I graded understood this, I suggest this is a failing of the class/instructor.

Failure of student grading system, which adds to stress when paying for the class:

- Lack of student graders when turned in on time (see multitude of forum posts asking for previous week's assignments to be graded.) Typically, students not paying for the course do not volunteer to grade assignments.

- Some students are unable to open traditional graphic image files (e.g., TIFFs) in this 3D modeling class. They flag your submission which adds to the grading probem. Another student did not understand that to peer-grade assignments, he would need to be able to copy and paste URLs / site addresses (or as an excuse to not grade). There needs to be a prerequiste statement that students are expected to be able to use basic web tools and browsers, able to open typical graphic formats, etc. The instructor could help reduce this by allowing hyperlinks in all, not some, of the student answers.

- Your fellow students grading you are obviously not subject-matter experts and do not have any more expertise or experience than you do. Regardless, they grade your material and individuals will often misunderstand and score things incorrectly.

- If you have one of these issues, you're really on your own. You can post in the forum for help but neither the instructor nor Coursera will provide assistance.

par Bhaumik U P

Dec 15, 2018

In the midst, the software uploading part was somewhat problematic, hopefully, due to some technical issues, however, overall it was great!

par Fernando D

Oct 19, 2018

This is the best online class that I have ever taken. Very informative, and with a lots of hands on exercises. It will require more than the 9.5 hrs announced

par Susan A

Jan 17, 2017

This class was inspiring! I't was worth the wait. Thank you!!

par yashar k s

Jun 15, 2018

Good course

par Phillip H M I

May 09, 2017

The 3D Printing Software class was challenging and Fun. It took a lot more time for me than estimated: Great Class!

par Ashish S

Jun 03, 2017

Awesome

par Anselmi C

Jan 07, 2017

Amazing

par JESUS R

Feb 06, 2017

Excellent

par Nikolas C

Nov 20, 2017

excelent aproach to the subject. Sadly it will change in the future

par Felipe

Jun 15, 2017

Ótimo curso!

par Shivam B

Aug 29, 2017

GREAT COURSE!

par Fred J F

Jan 16, 2017

I wanted to give only 4 stars because of the all the “problems” we encountered, but then we are learners investigating problem solving by design thinking. We can handle whatever comes, so the fifth star is for us. We are shaping this course by contributing to forums. Presumably we are ten thousand strong, let’s improve our worldwide voice by saying something on forms so we can get what we need and want we want also to stay on the cutting edge of reality.

par Ahmed N E

Jan 23, 2017

enlightening and mind opening

par SADDIER R

Jan 16, 2017

Very interesting course. Maybe Fusion 360 may have lasted one more week to get more indepth knowledge

par Folarin T

Mar 12, 2017

Awesome Course. It was quite challenging though

par Kaixuan H

Mar 13, 2018

Can get solid 3D software skill from this course to draw what your thoughts in mind to 3D drawing. Nice!

par Gustavo S

Dec 21, 2017

I loved this course.

par Pamela P

May 02, 2017

Very excellent class. Lots of great information.

par Akbar P

Aug 22, 2017

This course has been phenomenal. Initially it was quite challenging and I certainly had my fair share of frustrations trying to get a hang of Fusion 360. However, by the end of this course it has been quite a rewarding experience. I've learnt pretty much during the last few weeks that I've been working on 3D printing software course. I very much hope that the hardware course is released ASAP so I could proceed with the 3D printing specialization. Thanks!

par Edward H J

Jul 19, 2017

Great class.

par Rahul T

Jan 15, 2017

Interesting and very useful course.

par Hector A P

Jan 11, 2017

It gave me a good understanding of the software capabilities.

par Lionel M

Jan 26, 2018

The course is great. At times it seemed like an autodesk promo, (which i found highly irritating at the time) especially when showing us features of the sketch program that are only available on paid versions, (but having student downloads of autodesk programs has also made me warm to them and feel very grateful). I really enjoyed the work with fusion 360 -a real eye-opener.

The whole thing is little bit frustrating as we clash with the real world and economic limitations. But on the whole, there are great clues in the course to progressing and the course is well worth the time.

Thank you!

par Cem S

Aug 20, 2017

The most difficult but the most exciting course in the specialization.